Destroy Doubt Tour | Stop 01: Miami

US Nike Football
2 min readJul 10, 2018

--

In Antonio Brown’s hometown, the Destroy Doubt Tour made its first stop, and we asked AB and three high school athletes to tell us about doubt, dreams, and football.

Antonio Brown: Living in the city, it was tough, low income houses, section 8, it’s hard, you gotta have a strong mentality, you gotta have a vision, surround yourself with the right people. Hope is extremely important when you grow up in Miami.

Deon Jones: Winning State is one of my craziest dreams. Everybody doubted us. I ain’t got the arm strength, I ain’t fast enough, ain’t mobile enough.

Larry Smith: I’m too short to play linebacker.

Trayon Russel: Too small to play at the next level.

Antonio B: Small. Primadonna attitude. Some of that stuff can’t be answered with a word. It’s criticism — you answer with achievement.

Trayon R: It made me go harder. I just keep improving my game.

Larry S: I know I got the talent, got the grades.

Deon J: I don’t listen to most of that stuff, I just keep working.

Larry S: I just use the doubt as motivation, and push myself as a better player.

Larry S: I learn from guys ahead of me, learn from their mistakes.

Deon J: I want to give back once I eventually make it to the NFL. Even if I don’t, I want to give back to the community.

Antonio B: I’m just here to show ’em the kind of belief they should have in themselves.

Next stop: Dallas

Check out the interactive map and explore the route, the stops, and the stories of the Destroy Doubt Tour.

Read previous posts:

--

--

US Nike Football

Destroy Doubt Tour: First-Person Stories of High School Football