PEPTIC ULCERS: SYMPTOMS, CAUSES, AND PREVENTION.

Sarah Usman
4 min readJan 20, 2021

Do you know how heart ripping it is to live on drugs? Well, maybe you do, or maybe you don’t.

Hi everyone, it’s been a long time and I know. Life springs back and forth heartaches when it chooses to make us adults.

I mean, I didn’t beg for this, you sprung it at me, and now you’re punishing me for accepting your decision? Life’s quite unfair to humans.

It’s quite surprising that I’m writing on this topic, but the fact that for some weeks now, I’ve been battling brutally with my health, I’m goaded to write this article. It’s been so life battling that, as a non-medical “student”, I’ve familiarised with so many medical terms. I’m not complaining about expanding my knowledge on such field, though. I like the idea of being medically knowledgeable, I mean versatility is sexy so why not?

What are peptic ulcers?

Peptic ulcers are open sores that formulate on the coating of your stomach and the upper part of your small intestine. The most well-known symptom of a peptic ulcer is a chronic stomach pain.

In a simple term, peptic ulcers are sores that formulates on the coating of the oesophagus, stomach, or small digestive tract. Ulcers occur when stomach acid harms the covering of the digestive tract.

Common causes include the bacteria H. Pylori and anti-inflammatory pain relievers including aspirin.

--

--