The Future (Thoughts)

N o r t h e a s t
1 min readApr 29, 2023

--

(PEXELS/cottonbro studio)

Seeing you is a future.

When I blink, a moment flashes behind my head.

There’s a road where we’re laughing and tickling at each other. While our hands were both holding the street foods we bought for $5, you were confronting how I looked beautiful even when the lights from the traffic dimmed the block lamps.

When I touch the tip of your jacket, a sudden dialogue reaches my mind.

Not my gut began to portray the projection of you cooking me dinner. For I wanted the stir-fry but you chose a creamy pasta. But still, you’d cook both meals for us as a companion at movie night. And we’d eat it with delight.

When I look into your eyes, a lonely soul waves with unspoken feelings.

It’s bringing me to the part when we were pillow-talking on the edge of the king bed and enjoying city lights. Then you wrapped your arms on mine, transferring the warmth to my skin while it’s already on fire and long for the kiss.

It’s weird because I never see this kind of thing. Have you? I bet you neither.

-Northeast, 29 Apr 2023.

--

--

N o r t h e a s t

A young woman rants. Available to hire for writings and ENG-IDN translations. 📬 naymadani@gmail.com