My Ultimate Okonomiyaki Recipe

Uta who cooks
5 min readJun 29, 2022

--

It’s been a while since I uploaded a recipe on this blog. I was thinking of updating many more but I had been procrastinating until now.

I would like to share a recipe for Okonomiyaki today.

🎥Check the recipe in a video : https://youtu.be/1cAGnoex27o

The reason why I suddenly decided to upload this recipe is because one of my online friends asked me for the recipe, and when I told him it, he actually made it and gave me a positive feedback!

Thank you very much, Caleb, if you are reading this.

I'm going to insert the images that he sent me in the end of this article.

What is Okonomiyaki?

Okonomiyaki is a Japanese savory pancake that consists of wheat flour, dashi, eggs, starchy vegetables (normally Nagaimo / Chinese yam, but potatoes can be substituted for it), and lots of cabbages. Okonomiyaki sauce is a must to make it taste exactly like Okonomiyaki.

Just like any other food, there are countless ways of making it, and even how my mum makes it is different from how I make it.

This recipe is my ultimate favourite and I would not change it, but I love playing around with Guzai(stuff you mix into the mixture).

Crispy on the outside, soft on the inside like a pancake. Lots of chunks and cabbages in it makes it a lot more enjoyable than a cooked normal pancake batter.

Just like the previous recipe (How to make Eho-Maki (Sushi rolls for Setsubun) / With ingredients that are commonly available outside of Japan.) I uploaded, I adjusted the recipe for those who live abroad and may find it hard to find the same ingredients as what we can get in Japan.

Please enjoy:)

Recipe for my ultimate okonomiyaki

Ingredients (to make 5 okonomiyaki):

Cake flour (薄力粉) 130g

Powdered dashi (和風出汁の素) 6g

Water 160ml

Potatoes grated 30g

About a quarter cabbage shredded

Eggs (one egg for one okonomiyaki )

Sliced pork (bacon can work if you can’t find normal pork) about 2 slices for one Okonomiyaki

Oil for the pan

Ideas for Guzai/Stuff to mix in: *Use stuff you can find

-Dried sakura shrimps (Dried sakura ebi /乾燥桜エビ)、

-Red pickled ginger (Beni shoga /紅生姜)

-Kimchi

-Cheese

Sauce:

-Okonomiyaki sauce (お好み焼きソース) as much as you want

-Kewpie mayonnaise as much as you want

Toppings :

-Aonori flakes (青海苔)

-Bonito flakes (鰹節)

Procedure

  1. Whisk cake flour and powdered dashi in a big bowl. Add water a little by a little and whisk together until smooth. Ideally, rest it for 2 hours in the fridge. If you are lazy, just rest it while you are preparing other ingredients.

2. Shred cabbage. Cut guzai/stuff that you are going to mix in into small pieces to make them easier to eat, if necessary. Grate potatoes (wash and peel of the skin beforehand) and put it into the bowl of flour and liquid that you made in the process 1 and mix.

3. Make one okonomiyaki at a time. In a small bowl, pour about a fifth of the wet mixture, a big handful of shredded cabbage (*a lot more cabbage than the wet mixture quantity-wise), and other stuff of your choice, and crack one egg in. Mix, but do not stir well! Just lightly combine them with chopsticks, taking only 20 or 30 seconds.

4. Heat up a pan over medium heat, and spread oil. Pour the mixture while making sure it makes a circle, and place sliced pork on top. Put a lid on, turn the heat down to low, cook until the bottom gets brown. It takes about 10minutes. Turn it over. Do not put a lid anymore, and cook it for about 10 minutes until browned over low heat. Time may change depending on the pan you use or the size of Okonomiyaki, so check the colour.

5、Transfer the cooked Okonomiyaki onto a plate. Spread okonomiyaki sauce and mayonnaise. Top it up with aonori flakes and bonito flakes.

My family don't use Okonomiyaki sauce. Instead, we mix ketchup and Tonkatsu sauce.

Caleb's Try on my okonomiyaki recipe:

I've already told him this, but his okonomiyaki look amazing, and I am so grateful to see someone actually trying out my recipe and felt satisfied with the outcome.

--

--

Uta who cooks

It is my pleasure to share Japanese recipes in order to make Japanese food more accessible even at a home kitchen anywhere in the world.