The Quickest Miso Soup

Uta who cooks
4 min readOct 27, 2022

--

I’m currently making a video about how to make miso soup for my YouTube channel. I’m featuring 3 popular ways to make miso soup in the video, and here I’m writing down each recipe; the quickest miso soup, the everyday miso soup, and the tastiest miso soup.

This article is for the recipe of the quickest miso soup.

From a creator point of view (Am I a creator? I don’t know what I am, but anyways that’s not the point right now.), I think making videos is easier and more useful when I want to help people with capturing the big picture of the entire process. If you are used to cooking, you can cook pretty much anything just by watching videos, especially when you don’t strive to achieve exactly the same result.

Meanwhile, writing and publishing recipes is easier and more useful when I want to write down exact measurements and detailed processes so that anyone can grasp what they need to do to cook certain dishes. Plus, I don’t need to waste people’s time, checking the video when cooking. Pausing and playing, going back and forth on screen while trying to cooking isn’t convenient, is it?

The recipe video is available in here; https://youtu.be/v_gRMRqX2C8.

For the quickest miso soup, you will be using dashi powder.

It's the quickest because all you need to do to make the base stock for the soup is mixing the powder into a pot of water. How easy!

There are many kinds of dashi powder out there, and I know how confusing it is to choose one.

Ajinomoto's Hondashi is one of the most popular dashi powder since it's fairly tasty, very cheap, and it's found everywhere. This kind of convenient items rescues many home cooks on low-budget to make the everyday soup.

For the ingredients, I chose tofu and wake seaweed, because you don't need much time to cook both of the ingredients. Just wait until they get warmed up, and they are ready to eat.

Recipe for The quickest miso soup

Ingredients

1200ml water

6 grams of Dashi powder (The weight depends on the brand)

300g silky soft tofu

A handful of wakame seaweed

Miso to taste (about 3 tablespoons)

Procedure

Mix water and dashi powder into a pot. Turn the heat to high and boil.

Cut silky tofu into small squares. Turn the heat medium, and add the tofu. Bring it to another boil to warm tofu up.

Add wakame.

Turn off the heat. Dissolve miso into the soup. You can do this by multiple methods. I have a special strainer to make miso soup, but if you don’t have it, get a ladle and place miso on it. Soak the ladle into the pot, and add dashi broth into the ladle to dissolve miso little by little to avoid creating lumps, and dissolve it completely.

--

--

Uta who cooks

It is my pleasure to share Japanese recipes in order to make Japanese food more accessible even at a home kitchen anywhere in the world.