Introduction | Linear Algebra | Part 0

Utkarsh Mathur
2 min readJan 18, 2022

--

This series has been terminated and its articles are published as standalone articles mentioned below. You can follow my new series named “Numerical Mathematics for Data Scientists”.

Sorry for the inconvenience.

I am not an expert mathematician but I do know a thing or two about mathematics because of my profession — Data Science. I’ve been practicing Data Science for over 2 years and I’ve often felt that it is a beautiful intersection of Computer Science and Mathematics. Like most people, I started my Data Science practice by learning from MOOCs and so I never learned the mathematical principles behind most of the algorithms. As I am an engineering student, I’ve basic understanding of mathematics and now I am meticulously learning all the advanced mathematical concepts required to have a deeper understanding of Data Science.

I’ve started by understanding Linear Algebra and this blog series is a record of the experience. The main aim of writing this blog is to keep a short and organized record of all the crucial concepts.

I’ll be writing easy to simple blogs that can help anyone understand these concepts and be helpful in the swift revision of topics.

In the next blog I’ll briefly introduce Matrices, Matrix Operations, and Types of Matrices. If you want to contact me just drop a comment. Till then learn, practice, and evolve 🖖🏼.

--

--

Utkarsh Mathur

Data Science Student at University at Buffalo and a conduit to the stories data tell.