Self-doubt Is Your Ally

Utsav
2 min readOct 26, 2023

--

We all have been taught that having a self-doubt is a bad thing, it’s kind of self sabotage. But what if I told you your self doubt is actually your ally.

Self doubt usually occurs when you think you are not good enough. And at what things you think you are not good enough? Mainly the things you actually want to be good at, the things that you really care or interested in.

So self doubt actually indicates your aspirations and desires, what you actually want to be or achieve.

You will not feel self doubt towards the things you don’t have interest in or desire.

Let me share my story with you:

When I write I don’t doubt myself at all. Why? Do I don’t like writing or am I not interested in it? No, I write because it helps me to think clearly and make connections with different topics better. I don’t desire to become the best writer, but I always have a doubt as a good thinker, I really spend hours thinking about a topic — am I thinking about this topic correctly? am I missing something? What if it is not the right way I think….. etc. That’s why I share my writings online to get more feedbacks on my thoughts, to see if people are agreeing with my ideas or not.

If you find yourself asking yourself (and your friends), “Am I really a writer? Am I really an artist?” chances are you are. You have some kind of interest in that thing and may actually be doing or practicing it.

Self doubt creates a sense of fear in us which must be overcome as it will prevent you from moving forward. This fear is mainly created because of resistance, to prevent you from doing the work. As we know Resistance is the evil repelling force that surrounds a work that is very important for us to grow and improve.

The more the important work, more will be the resistance. And self doubt is one form of resistance.

Resistance has no power in itself, it uses our inner fears to kill our progress.

So you need to overcome this fear.

If you have a self doubt, keep in mind that it is nothing but an indicator of what you want to be or achieve. It brings fear with it. But you know the solution, you just need to gather enough strength and start doing the work as soon as possible before fear takes over you.

More impactful insights will keep on coming, so don’t forget to follow!

Also do give your feedback in the comments.

See you next time !

Utsav.

--

--

Utsav

Writer | Thinker | Curator of ideas. Sharing insights to inspire transformative change. Let's embark on a journey of self-discovery and empowerment.