How to be an Anti-Racist at the Grocery Store

I watched another video from Zion Lutheran’s “Videos for the Civil Rights Trip 2022.” This is 3:48 minutes long. It’s a practical application of using my white privilege to point out the injustice in my everyday world. I don’t have to march on State Street to make a difference. I can say things to white people that a black woman would not be able to say without creating a no-win situation. A simple question in public, which poses almost no risk to me, can change the experience for an oppressed black woman in minutes.

Watch “A Trip to the Grocery Store” with Dr. Joy DeGruy

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wf9QBnPK6Yg

Please spend less than 4 minutes to learn this effective tactic.

Submitted by Teresa Wilmot

--

--

The Unitarian Universalist Church, Rockford, IL

We are the UU Church in Rockford, IL. We are a loving congregation that connects, and a liberal non-creedal community devoted to love and reason.