Interdenominational Civil Rights Trip

--

Sunday, I joined members of several local congregations who will share a bus on June 21st, traveling to Alabama to visit several locations instrumental to the civil rights movement in the 1960’s and 1970’s. This trip is also inter-generational and inter-racial. Part of the trip will be the intentional mixing of members on the bus during the trip. After every stop for food or restroom visits, we will sit with another person we don’t know and share our stories.

I sat at a table with 3 women I didn’t know and I that I did know, but none of these women were Unitarian Universalists. One was a minister and two were young adults. When the topic of Unitarian Universalists came up, there was little understanding of what we are. I tried to explain the general outline.

In the process, I struggled with my own understanding. Later, I looked for a resource that would help me describe my 40-year experience. I found this description at uua.org:

https://www.uua.org/blueboat/ofcolor/the-theology-unitarian-universalists

I invite you to scan this description by Ted Resnikoff.

I will be posting about this trip as we prepare, tour, and form relationships.

Submitted by Teresa Wilmot

--

--

The Unitarian Universalist Church, Rockford, IL

We are the UU Church in Rockford, IL. We are a loving congregation that connects, and a liberal non-creedal community devoted to love and reason.