Reuse, Reupholster Old Furniture

--

I have a new, 70-year-old loveseat! It fits the space in my living room perfectly, and it fits my 4’ 10” body, as well. The loveseat that Allen Penticoff moved from Sycamore for me on 12/19/21 is now reupholstered in sturdy, long-lasting fabric that completes my sitting area.

My goal was to reuse an old piece of furniture rather than buy a new piece which would be poorly constructed and made to be unusable within 5 to 10 years. I didn’t want furniture assembled with staples, that couldn’t be repaired. I didn’t want furniture that required repair upon arrival, as my daughter’s dining room table that arrived with 2 left legs.

The upholsterer who transformed this sofa was impressed with the quality with which it had been made in 1950. I had researched the manufacturer, Century, after I found it on Facebook Marketplace from its description as “vintage.”

This was the sofa with “good bones” that I had been looking for. Not only do I love this piece, but I am filled with gratitude that I saved it from a landfill and gave it a second life. I fulfilled my goal of “Re-Purpose and Reuse (buy used but nice)” in order to live sustainably.

Here are a few other goals to meet sustainability:

1) Showcase Simple Beauty (use natural touches like pine cones)

2) Eat More Veggies

3) Purchase Wisely and Recycle (buy with the least packaging)

4) Reduce Plastic Waste (don’t use single-use cups, straws, or bottled water)

5) Shop Local Farmers’ Markets

6) More Fun, Less Stuff

Submitted by Teresa Wilmot

--

--

The Unitarian Universalist Church, Rockford, IL

We are the UU Church in Rockford, IL. We are a loving congregation that connects, and a liberal non-creedal community devoted to love and reason.