The Power of Reciprocity

--

This month’s theme is The Gift of Generosity. The packet for small groups includes lots of opportunities to experience this theme, including links to sources that inspire. In exploring these sources, I read this article by Andrew Quagliata, “The Power of Reciprocity.”

I used to sit back, waiting for people to come to me with what I desire, whether it’s attention or appreciation or love. But Andrew states, “If we desire more of something in our lives, we must first extend what we desire to others.” What a concept! If I pay attention someone, they might pay attention to me. Of course, this isn’t easy for an introvert, but I try.

This is a short article, taking about 3 minutes to read, and it provides more details about how this technique works in practice. Check it out:

https://www.andrewquagliata.com/post/the-power-of-reciprocity-how-giving-leads-to-receiving

This is just one example from a 9-page packet that has tons of ideas. Consider joining a Soul Matters small group and experiencing the closeness of sharing with other members.

Submitted by Teresa Wilmot

--

--

The Unitarian Universalist Church, Rockford, IL

We are the UU Church in Rockford, IL. We are a loving congregation that connects, and a liberal non-creedal community devoted to love and reason.