Trans Rights, It Matters to All of Us

--

Saturday I was alerted to a post on Facebook by my daughter, Rev. Erin Dajka Holley, who serves as the Second Minister at All Souls Unitarian Universalist Church in Kansas City, MO. She is appalled at the 30 bills in the Missouri state legislature restricting rights for trans people, and, especially for trans children. I frequently give thanks that I live in the state of Illinois, which values, at least legally, all people. But the news is full of fearful legislation across our country.

On Monday I watched Sunday’s worship service from ASUUKS during which Erin preached the sermon and Greg Razor, the only gay state Senator, who represents Kansas City, spoke from his heart. I recommend this service to you.

The video is one hour and 22 minutes long; I provide some milestones to help guide you.

Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cFeGQ4IfuhA

Start of service: 20 minutes in

Children’s story: 33 minutes

First Reading: 42:40 minutes

Senator Greg Razor: 46 minutes

Second Reading: 1:00

Sermon: 1:02

Closing hymn, Fire of Commitment: 1:16

I enjoyed singing the closing hymn with my daughter.

--

--

The Unitarian Universalist Church, Rockford, IL

We are the UU Church in Rockford, IL. We are a loving congregation that connects, and a liberal non-creedal community devoted to love and reason.