Uncomfortable Conversations with a Black Man

--

I have trouble having conversations with African Americans because I don’t see many in my daily life. Yes, my neighborhood has black residents, and I see them walk their dogs past my house, but we rarely talk beyond, “Hi.” I want to have a meaningful conversation and get to know a black person, but how?

Emmanuel Acho is a football star, so, of course, I’ve never heard of him. But he’s also a black man; an intelligent, articulate, and discerning voice for anti-racism. He answers my questions calmly and logically. He has recorded weekly videos, each less than 10 minutes long, which communicate to me as a privileged white person.

I invite you to watch his first video:

https://uncomfortableconvos.com/episode/episode-1

Then consider that he’s recording his eleventh episode right now.

These videos are an easy (relatively) education in what it’s like to be black in our country today. It’s free. From the link above, you can access all 10 completed episodes and access new ones as they become available.

Are you ready to become an anti-racist?

Submitted by Teresa Wilmot

--

--

The Unitarian Universalist Church, Rockford, IL

We are the UU Church in Rockford, IL. We are a loving congregation that connects, and a liberal non-creedal community devoted to love and reason.