Divine Davina: A Journey of Faith, Adaptation, and Achievement

UWI St. Augustine
3 min readOct 22, 2023

For a moment, think about the first time you indulged in crab and dumpling. For the next few moments, let us consider four responses. For some, they have never done it, and cannot relate. For others, it is found to be too laborious, or they have an allergic reaction and lastly, for most, it is the most time-consuming but rewarding task they will ever engage in. Strangely, each of those answers perfectly captures my experience at university.

Firstly, there are those who never did it. On this journey to earn my degree, I was faced with a lot of first-time challenges. I am a first-generation university student, who enrolled in the fall of 2020, in the middle of the Covid-19 outbreak. I completed my first 2 years online, whilst commuting to and from Trinidad for laboratory work. As the pandemic restrictions eased, I was challenged to leave Tobago and relocate to the sister island of Trinidad, where I rented alone, with no support of family or friends, or so it seemed in the beginning.

Secondly, eating crab seems like way too much work. Likewise, my degree, BSc Biochemistry and Biology, was no walk in the park. Frequently, I found myself becoming overwhelmed, doubtful, filled with regret. How could I pick such a deadly combination and plan to finish it in three years rather than four? After finishing my A levels and before starting my degree, I worked for two years, so it was difficult to get back into the swing of things. Being online for the first two years did not make my final face-to-face year any easier. Imagine your final year being like your first year, which entails familiarizing yourself with your surroundings, interacting with hundreds of classmates, thousands of students, getting used to your various lecturers, learning the routes in Trinidad, and pushing courses to ensure I completed in 3 years.

UWI St. Augustine Class of 2023 Graduate, Davina Nelson.

Thirdly, others are not privy to crab because of an allergy; that is exactly how I felt throughout my final semester. It was like I became atopic to everything at The University of the West Indies; I felt ill from beginning to end. However, I had to be reminded by friends, family, and God, that I didn’t come this far to give up. I had to ensure the pressures I was facing were transformed to progress through my persistence.

Finally, for the majority, consuming crab is one of the most time-consuming yet rewarding activities they will ever undertake. Grace before meals should be a requirement, likewise, I did my best to let God be my guidance in whatever I did. As a result, I always consulted the higher power in the beginning, during, and after completing assignments or exams. My tribe kept me grounded, new friends and relatives went with me to doctor appointments, fed me, prayed for me, and stayed up late to study with me. Without them, this journey would not have been possible. Without them, I am certain that I would not have survived. Would you believe that after everything I’ve been through, I would go through it all again.

A message to anyone: the only error you can make when deciding what to do with your life is to remain motionless. No matter what is happening in the world, the years are still ticking away. What will you do?

--

--

UWI St. Augustine

The official Medium page of The University of the West Indies, St. Augustine Campus