Product review: Button Shortcuts

Hazel Song
3 min readOct 4, 2019

--

TL;DR

It depends on your context, I don’t think I will keep using this product.

  • I’m pretty used to all the shortcuts I use on a daily basis
  • I can use the default search on the menu bar — This is my mental model of searching things on apps
  • There have been a lot of prototyping tools for designers to learn. So Button Shortcuts actually can help them save a lot of time! 💨
  • The company name is amazzzzing💨

Context

  • I use Sketch, Photoshop, After Effects, Google Suite, Illustrator, Zepline… what else..? A lot of design tools.
  • Ya, when I started learning those design tools, I googled a lot
  • My workaround to get used to shortcuts for each app is to change them to be the same as Photoshop; Refer to the images below!
  • I’m pretty used to all the shortcuts I use on a daily basis
L) Sketch R) Customized shortcuts to be the same as Photoshop's

Why I tried to use it?

Getting used to shortcuts is a hassle. I saw it on ProductHunt and the company name made me download it! :D

Three things I like about this product

  • The company’s name… This is the best company name I’ve ever seen!
  • Double-tapping ⌘ is very easy to remember; This is such an amazing idea. Because they built this product to the solve problem of overwhelming shortcuts. It would’ve been ironic if the shortcut of itself was hard to remember.
  • There have been a lot of prototyping tools for designers to learn. So Button Shortcuts actually can help them save a lot of time! 💨

Things I don’t like about this product

No free trial! I can use the free version but I can’t search for the shortcuts. So it’s basically not usable. You need to scroll through to find what you want on the free version.

Thoughts

Maybe give users a 7–14 days free trial and then disable the search feature? Like how Sketch Runner did. The shortcut [⌘+’] became my habit when I design in Sketch so I had to buy it when the pro version came out. I’m usually very generous when it comes to buying productivity apps! I’d like to try it in a real context and see how it’s like :).

💨

--

--