Builder Buddy — My first UX project

UXDi General Assembly

Dan Green
6 min readDec 13, 2017

Intro

This is my first foray into the agile world of UX, it was a new way for me when I first started, now four project sprints complete, including a live client, I can look back with a smile and see where it all began. Please feel free to give feedback and help me on this journey. Also take a look at my other project posts, some key learning moments and discoveries along the way.

The Overview

During the first week at General Assembly we worked in pairs to find a problem that our partner was having within their day to day living. I then had to solve the highlighted problem by creating an app.

The problem that most played on my partners mind was a recent one and involved the process of finding a reputable builder to undertake works at a good price. Through research I discovered the price was a key driver in her overall decision making. Without having knowledge for price of works there was nothing to compare against when requesting quotes, and so no leverage in negotiations.

Problem: “Am I getting a good deal from a good tradesmen?”

Read on to find out how I identified a solution and the process of what I did to create the app.

Please click or paste link to view Interactive Prototype: https://marvelapp.com/2hfd6gd

Research

Grainne was my user, married and in the process of improving her first home. To understand her problem I conducted interviews to establish patterns in her problem. I asked her questions regarding her experience of using tradesmen to improve her home. Some of the questions asked include what the process was, her likes and dislikes of the process, why she was taking this route, had she gained any insights along the way?

Once I had some solid information from recordings and notes I began to plot the findings out on a concept map.

Creating the concept map helped me formulate the experience of the user against desire and expected outcome. This was the breakthrough moment as I was able to see a root cause issue.

Experience was not congruent with expectation!

What was driving this asymmetry?

It was clear from an early stage in the search process, price comparison was almost none existent. A quote was required from the building contractor against works requested but the quote was not offset against market rate to compare.

How could you be sure you was not getting ripped off?

This factor alone was creating uncertainty in the user about the quality and service she was receiving for the price paid. A foundational issue that if solved could go someway to saving time, energy and suffering on quote chasing and rogue tradesmen. Improving the overall experience.

Story Board

I started to sketch out each phase of the users current experience, each time looking at the overall picture and comparing to the concept map I had drawn keeping in mind my original insight experience was not congruent with expectation”. From each sketch before moving onto the next I asked why the user would find themselves at that point and then what could be a possible solution. I was trying to build a picture of the users current experience and also a possible solution. For each stage of the story I asked the user for feedback.

The Solution!

It was a challenge to pin down each aspect of the current process of builder quotes and estimates but it was clear from research that the foundations of good experience could be laid by having an app that was able to provide you a estimate of works for your area and trade required before actually requesting a tradesmen quote.

Why have this pre-estimate before requesting a company quote?

The user would be armed with the knowledge of price guides and in doing so know who or which tradesmen would give them the best possible chance of reaching their desired outcome.

The app would have a builder buddy who could price the works for you and help you make informative decisions based off certain criteria specified by the user. The app could also show builders already rated by other users and recommended by users.

User flows & Sketches

As I was creating I was struggling to find the best path for my user. This was down to over complicating and over analysing, missing key elements.

Critique & Feedback

During my first critique I received some valuable and much appreciated feedback. I needed to simplify each task and minimise the decision making of the user with the app. Too much choice is not always the best option.

Back to the drawing board with my feedback I re-worked the user flow and began to build a paper prototype.

Prototyping

My first iterations were very simple but had the structure of the app and gave context to where buttons could be placed.

I started testing the paper prototype and realised I needed to add back buttons to each screen to allow the user to clearly navigate. I also added some more details such as ratings and distance from the tradesmen list. added review and photo options and drop down menus for selecting trade and type of work.

I based the test on a user looking for a plumber to fit out a new bathroom.

The Marvel of Marvel

Using Marvel I was able to bring the paper prototype to life. This allowed me to test the second iteration of the app with different users to get some feedback on the layout and functions. After feedback I moved the back button to the top of the screen and added a call option to the quote to compliment the send message and request call back feature. I had originally designed to keep the back buttons together at the bottom of the screen but through testing it was clear users could operate better from recognising from other apps the back button layout.

Please click or paste link to view Interactive Prototype: https://marvelapp.com/2hfd6gd

The Outcome

People will be able to see average cost of works in the area they live and have confidence when receiving real world prices from tradesmen. No more inflated pricing, plan out your projects and budget in additions. Agree with your builder and arm yourself with the knowledge to negotiate.

Looking to the future of the app

  • Grey out buttons after selection on detail, review, photo
  • Add sort menu to plumbers list
  • Add message sent notification after quote
  • Add icons on quote screen for send message, request call back & call
  • Align the 3 buttons next to each other

Builder Buddy Part 2 — Visual evolution through design

SAY HELLO

contact me at: uxdesignuk@gmail.com

Or

Linkedin

--

--