UX Designers — Here’s how to (very practically) set yourself apart from other designers in 2024

Want to know some steps you can take today to stand out from all the other designers applying for the same jobs? I’ve got you.

UX Survival Guide
7 min readAug 19, 2024

I’m sure you’re sick of hearing it… the market for UX & Product Designers is tough. So the bare minimum will rarely get your foot in the door these days. Completing a bootcamp and having a well-put-together portfolio might not even cut it. Even having actual years of experience might STILL not be good enough.

So how can we increase these odds? How can you set yourself up so that you stand out from all the other designers applying for the same jobs?

Everything in this article is exactly what I would be doing if I was having a hard time finding work in the UX field and if the knowledge and experience I had wasn’t getting my foot in the door.

And no, I’m not going to suggest becoming a content creator and building out your personal brand. I’m still verrrry far from being sold on that idea, I think companies couldn’t care less.

Instead here is what you’ll find:

  • Finding ways to incorporate AI into portfolio case studies
  • Hone confidence about accessibility in design

--

--

UX Survival Guide

Tips & Career Advice for UX/Product Designers from a Principal Product Designer with 10+ years of experience