It was so unusual how LLM, like ChatGPT, might make me a better book reader

Volodymyr Yavdoshenko
2 min readJun 19, 2024

--

Generated by ChatGPT 4o

Reading books wasn’t the most pleasurable thing for me during my whole life. I have read a lot of professional stuff, but I have also read dozens of fiction books. It always was a sense of obligation. But now I clearly understand the phrase: “If you don’t like to read, you haven’t found the right book.” — J.K. Rowling.

I guess the main problem with any type of recommendation, regardless of whether this is about books or something else, is that people can give you a piece of advice based on their experience and taste. They can’t take an account your experience and taste because that’s impossible. However, the wiser of them can try to stand in your shoes and consider your description of your previous experience as relevant, skipping taking into account their own.

Nevertheless, even the most well-read person can’t consider such a huge corpus of data as modern chatbots. However, I believe most people just skip this process without gaining any reasonable result. All these negotiations regarding the next book can be slightly serious chat.

That’s why I tried to ask for a recommendation from ChatGPT. Honestly, the first recommendation wasn’t the best shot. Anyway, I discussed using the same chat session for each next choice, describing my thoughts and impressions of the last one. I can say that every further recommendation has become better and better. Right now, I can say that the last one was the best book I have ever read. This became real because I could tell the chatbot everything I thought regarding his recommendations without any hesitations because I understood I could say everything and this would not touch his feelings. The chatbot didn’t care and could make recommendations truly based only on my taste, experience, description, and, finally, feedback.

Now I can say that’s amazing. I always thought that reading books was the same as meeting the author and spending some time with him. I believe this is like friendship, and now the chatbot can help me to find a better fit for this activity.

P.S.
Useful links:
- The latest book I have read: “The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared.” This is not a recommendation from me, but I’ve got a lot of fun reading this book.
- Chatbot Arena Leaderboard: https://chat.lmsys.org/?leaderboard.
Choose the chatbot you like.

--

--