Cottage Cheese, cabbage and lentil salad

Vaibhavi Doshi
3 min readFeb 7, 2017

--

Tangy, yummy and wholesome salad full of proteins, fiber, calcium, iron and folate.

It feels so good to get back to something you love to do… I just realized I took a two months break from the most favorite thing I have always loved….write on my blog… my space to write my views and share my thoughts about my passion towards cooking 😉… Finally back to my writing mode….😊

Well like every year my this years resolution of losing weight is still on and instead of January, I decided to start working towards my resolution in feb… (as was on a nice two months vacation in India… )😜

So my today’s recipe is this awesome salad which is easy and quick to prepare, hassle free and definitely tastes awesome 😋. It was ready in just 15 to 20 mins… perfect lunch for a busy day…

What I loved the most about this salad is the combination of crunchiness from the cabbage, softness of the paneer and tanginess from the lemon…

I have used split yellow lentil in this salad( you can get them from any Indian store) as they are a good source of proteins, folate, and iron (to name a few), easy to cook and the best part of lentils is that they absorb the wonderful flavors when combined with other foods.

I am sure you will equally love this salad… do let me know in the comments how did it turn out to be…

Enjoy!!!!

Cottage cheese, cabbage and lentil salad.

Ingredients

2 cups chopped cabbage

1/2 cup yellow moong dal

1 cup grated Paneer

2 tsp oil

1/2 tsp mustard seeds

2 to 3 curry leaves

1/4 tsp asafoetida

3/4 tsp finely chopped green chillies

Salt to taste

3 tbsp chopped coriander leaves

1 tsp lemon juice

Method

  1. Wash and soak the yellow moong dal in enough water in a deep bowl for 30 minutes. Drain and keep aside.
  2. Heat the oil in a broad non-stick pan and add the mustard seeds.
  3. When the seeds crackle, add the curry leaves, asafoetida and green chillies and sauté on a medium flame for 30 seconds.
  4. Add the yellow moong dal and sauté on a medium flame for 1 minute.
  5. Add the salt and 2 tbsp of water and mix well. Cover with a lid and cook on a slow flame for 3 to 4 minutes, while stirring occasionally.
  6. Add the cabbage, Paneer mix well and cook on a medium flame for 1 to 2 minutes, while stirring occasionally.
  7. Remove from the flame, transfer the mixture into a deep bowl and cool it slightly.
  8. Add the coriander and lemon juice and mix well.
  9. Serve immediately.

Nutrient value per serving

Energy 152 kcal

Protein 9.6 gms

Carbohydrate 24.7 gms

Fat 4.8 gms

Weight watchers points 2

For more recipes like these follow me on Pinterest and check out my profile Doshi1698 or my Passion cooking page on Facebook.

If you really liked liked this recipe then would love to see a small heart ❤️ below…

--

--

Vaibhavi Doshi

Amateur cook, nutritionist, food bloger, passion for cooking, baking.....