Interview experience with Quadeye

Vaibhav Poddar
4 min readDec 12, 2019

--

Introduction

Hello everyone!! I am Vaibhav Poddar, a final year undergraduate student pursuing B.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering from IIT Kharagpur. My current CGPA is 9.27, and recently I received a full-time job offer from Quadeye.

Preparation

I started my preparation after I completed my summer internship at Samsung Research & Institute, Bangalore ( got a PPO ). I began with strengthening my skills in Competitive Programming (CP) before moving to any CSE core courses because these days, almost all software companies conduct online coding rounds before one can be interviewed with the company. I began with solving all the InterviewBit questions from scratch, then tried to complete GeeksforGeeks Data Structure questions and finally moved to Codeforces and Leetcode.

I registered for the “Advances in Operating System” course, which helped me to cover details of OS parallelly and thus did not have to prepare for it separately. I opted for “Artificial Intelligence” and “Advance Graph Theory” in the seventh semester. These courses helped me to tackle most of the coding questions. For eliminating the fear of data science, I completed “Machine Learning” in my third year and “Reinforcement Learning” along with “Scalable Data Mining” in the seventh semester. I applied in almost all top software companies that came for recruitment. Finally, I got shortlisted for an interview with every company I applied for. Few of them are Quadeye, Alphagrep, Salesforce, Google, Uber, Apple, Sony Japan, Microsoft, Oracle, Sprinklr, Cohesity, One Plus, SAP Labs, Flipkart, etc.

Screening Round

Quadeye came for hiring students for System engineer and Quantitative strategist. Quadeye conducted an online test in November. It comprised of 3 sections: probability, systems, and coding. Each section was given around 30–40 minutes and a dedicated time slot. One can’t switch between any two sections.

Interview Experience

Quadeye came on Day1. My interview with Quadeye started at around 4:30 a.m. Due to a lack of sleep, I had a fear of messing up everything. I had 6 back to back Personal interviews and 2 Telephonic interviews. All interview rounds lasted for 30–40 minutes.

Round 1

The interviewer asked 4–5 questions. Questions mainly revolved around Permutation and Combination, strategy building problems.

Round 2

In this round, I was given a paper that contains an open-ended problem inside the company. This was a 2-page question and included more than ten subparts. Almost all the subparts need to be solved in O(1) time complexity. Luckily my interviewer helped me understand the question. My task was to discuss the approach to solve this problem.

Round 3

This round was tough, as well as interesting. Coding questions were related to standard linked list questions. I had a lot of questions on C++ like virtual class, pointers, OOPS concepts, etc. Explain the working of different system calls etc. with as many details I know. Few questions were based on optimizing code. Some theoretical questions on compilers.

Round 4

In this round, I was asked questions on Computer Organisation and Architecture and then switched to my COA processor project. Then 3–4 questions on DP. All of them were unknown to me. After minutes of thinking, I was able to come up with an efficient solution.

Round 5

This round was much of an HR round type. I explained my projects and interests.

Round 6

This round was much similar to the second round.

Telephonic round 1 and 2

In this round, the interviewer asked few questions on C++; on Computer Networks like TCP, UDP; and 4–5 coding questions. Coding problems include concepts of DP, graphs, designing a custom data structure.

Round 2 was a bit harder than the former but had a similar pattern.

After a minute, the hiring manager told me that they would like to give me an offer.

All these ended by 11:30 a.m.

Suggestions

  • Do practice writing codes on paper because you would have to write codes on paper, and it’s very easy to mess up at first go.
  • Keep practicing questions from your favorite online judge like Codeforces, Codechef, etc. Do complete InterviewBit.
  • Do not practice the same type of questions you are comfortable doing with.
  • Do not panic if you can’t come up with an efficient solution at first. Interviewers generally tend to give hints in the direction where you could optimize your code.
  • Try to keep the interview as a 2-way communication rather than converting it into a monologue.

In case of any doubt or queries, feel free to comment or ping me on Facebook.

--

--

Vaibhav Poddar

BTech in Computer Science and Engineering, IIT Kharagpur