Women of TextNow: Christine & Megan

Valeria K
5 min readMar 4, 2019

--

In this series, we celebrate this year’s International Women’s Day theme of #BalanceForBetter by interviewing the women of TextNow and learning more about their experience working in the tech industry.

It is no secret that the tech industry is one of several that is still seeing gender imbalances in the workplace. According to a recent Statista article, women only make up between 26%-43% of the workforce in major tech companies.

Here at TextNow, we pride ourselves on constantly challenging the status quo and committing ourselves to self improvement. So while our numbers are currently sitting at 21% of female employees, that is a 71% increase in the last 2 years. And with 47% of our leadership roles being filled out by women, we hope to encourage more women to check out our openings and thrive in an industry that frankly could use more diversity.

To celebrate International Women’s Day this year, we decided to spotlight some of these women here at TextNow, and tell their stories of how they got here, and what their advice would be to women aspiring to join them.

So without further ado, I’d like to introduce Christine Templin, VP of Engineering:

Oktoberfest in California? Wine not?
  1. What was your first professional job? Which field/industry was it in?IT Systems Admin in a hospital
  2. Was it difficult to find a job in that field? How many companies did you interview with before landing it?
    No, the hours were difficult as it was a night shift job but getting hired was not. ( Note there was 0% unemployment and ability to get a job at that time was super low and anyone would be trained)
  3. In your experience, what has been the biggest difference between men and women in the workplace? Do you think these are specific to your field, or widespread?
    Opportunity and advancement. I have always had to ask for opportunities, it has rarely been offered to me as it has been to my male peers. I also know I have been passed over for promotions and held to different standards that my male peers who were promoted while being less successful.
    I know it is broader than just Engineering but after spending years and years as the only female leader at the table, I certainly feel it is more pronounced in Engineering.
  4. What support system (if any) do you have that helps you succeed in your role?
    My family including my 2 amazing sisters along with a bunch of bad-ass women I am proud to call friends, all amazing and successful in their careers and lives and critical sounding boards for me when I need to make difficult decisions or just need to check myself.
  5. What advice would you give to a new female graduate today looking for a job in this field?
    Always be yourself, do not feel like you have to check every box to be the right person for the job. Do not compromise on what is most important to you. The right job will come. Surround yourself with a strong support network who will call you on your bullshit and support you no matter what.
  6. Lastly, for fun, if you could have any group of women (real or fictional) come out for an International Women’s Day brunch with you, who would you choose?
    I would have a very big brunch: My Mom, Ruth Bader Ginsberg, Michelle Obama, Serena Williams, Nancy Pelosi, Ellen DeGeneres, Angela Merkel and all 110 women in US Congress.

Megan Hong, AdOps Manager:

We’re feeling a strong Elle Woods vibe
  1. What was your first professional job? Which field/industry was it in?Account Manager at Tapzillion! Mobile, an online advertising network.
  2. Was it difficult to find a job in that field? How many companies did you interview with before landing it?
    I was still a full time student at the time, but switched to the night program so I could work full time and get a jump start on my career. Not knowing exactly what I wanted to do, I applied to a variety of different jobs in different industries just trying to land something. The small startup company I eventually joined allowed me to grow and hone my skills in the professional world. I interviewed with about 5 other companies before accepting the position.
  3. In your experience, what has been the biggest difference between men and women in the workplace? Do you think these are specific to your field, or widespread?
    I think men take more risks and are more outspoken during meetings. Women tend to need assurance and validation of their ideas, sometimes even before presenting them to the broader group. I think this is widespread and I can even see this happening in other situations, such as my MBA classes.
  4. What support system (if any) do you have that helps you succeed in your role?
    All of my managers to date have been extremely supportive in making sure the work I’m doing is fulfilling me personally and that I’m making a real difference at my company. Even when I moved on to other teams, my previous managers were still mentors to me and close personal friends.
  5. Lastly, for fun, if you could have any group of women (real or fictional) come out for an International Women’s Day brunch with you, who would you choose?
    I’d pick Ellen DeGeneres because she’s not only hilarious but such a strong woman who fights for what she believes in.

--

--