Valerie Kittell
Jul 20, 2022

--

No one EVER will surpass Jennifer Ehle and Colin Firth as the Platonic Ideal of Elizabeth and Darcy. Ehle's eyes actually sparkled with supressed playfullness and Firth often spoke like his teeth hurt to express inner turmoil ( a technique pioneered by Alan Rickman). Why they continually make other inferior versions, I'll never understand.

And yes, the 1995 Persuasion is also perfection, primarily for the art direction, but it was also spledidly cast.

Persuasion was always my personal favorite Austen novel - I am undecided if I can actually sit through this version without inciting a stroke, and if I should take the risk.

--

--

Valerie Kittell

Slightly grumpy New Englander. Opinion and essays here on Medium, my short stories can be read at https://storypassport.substack.com without any subscription