Is Art School Worth it? Only If You Answer Yes to this Question.

Vanessa Garza
3 min readJun 16, 2020

--

As the graduating class of 2020 celebrates an unforeseen beginning to our decade, and begin to think about their future educational goals, many will have their sights on pursing an arts degree.

As a former student on a path to a Fine Arts degree, who has also amassed $50,000+ in student loan debt, a job in retail, and an unclear path on how to land an art career, this is my chance to help you.

Before I begin, I need to state this is only from my perspective and experience. I can say with confidence that I have seen others succeed pursing the same career, and you may be one of them.

However.

This may seem obvious, but it comes down to money. Now, before you discount this as an issue, pointing out that loans exist, and are lenient with your post-grad situation, it is much different from the other side.

Late 2017 I began my freshman year at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, with full intentions of finishing and getting a 4 year degree. My dad singed a Parent Plus Loan and we were set. At the time, I was working as a cashier at a grocery store in the suburbs bordering the city.

The bus and train commute was tiresome at times for the next couple of years, and most of my money went to $50 paint brushes and way-to-fancy-to-only-be-practing canvas from Blick across the street. But, I was fine with that. I hadn’t paid a cent towards my education at this point, and was fully enjoying the experience of being an art student in the city.

Then I wasn’t.

I received a letter in the mail stating that I can no longer continue to take out loans to fund my education. Further, if I wanted to continue, I needed to pay in full or be ready for huge monthly payments. I was crushed. The guilt soon took over as the realization hit me: I had no idea how much debt I had amassed at this point.

Unfortunately, many others make the mistake I did. Some are able to pull through for 4 years, and at minimum enjoy 6 months of a grace period post-graduate, and income based plans to fall back on if needed.

I stopped attending after only 1 year and 1 semester.

Apparently that gets you $50,000+ in debt.

So, my point is art school is not worth it, unless you’re rich right? No. Not at all actually. Sadly, when the revelation came to me, it was already too late.

But. To all of you that want nothing more than to go to art school, and are locking in colleges, coming from a low income to middle class family, you can do it.

If you network.

Every day I wish I could go back and tell myself to speak up more. To share my creative ideas more often. To be friends with the professors and ask for their business cards. To go to all the gallery events and meet all the artists in town. To treat my peers like future collaborates…

But, I didn't.

I cannot stress enough how vital this mindset will be on your ability to create a career in art. All the money in the world can’t ever produce the same results as a driven person with amazing networking skills.

Funny enough, when my mindset shifted into this pattern, I landed art opportunities I never thought I would when I was a student. I took advantage of the local art scene, emailing art initiatives, making friends with nearby artists, creating murals, and finally enjoy a sense of a future in art.

So, are you prepared to treat every classroom day as time to network? As a chance to meet a future collaborator?

If you answer yes to this question, you will absolutely succeed.

--

--

Vanessa Garza

Writer/Artist/Obnoxiously Loud Guitarist. Trying to get it together before 21.