Should I Trust My Intuition for Running My Business? For Running My Life?

Val Nelson
6 min readJan 30, 2018

--

You know that feeling…when you just… Know. You don’t know how you know, but you just know. That’s intuition. It has been an amazing force in my business experience. It feels like a secret weapon I stumbled upon.

And so the question comes up for me, and others, about how much to let it run my decisions? How reliable is it? What about the data?

I want to explain a little about what intuition is, how it feels, and my experience with the ups and downs of it. Then I’ll share some ideas for how to make good use of it, in a way that even your skeptical mind can appreciate.

What Is Intuition?

Intuition is a knowing that isn’t obviously connected to the reason or analytical part of the mind, and yet it can be very reasonable and useful.

For me, intuition is the sometimes quiet, and sometimes loud, signals inside me that say “Yes, do it,” or “No, don’t.” It feels like this inside me:

I drew this in my sketchbook one day when I was looking for answers. This came from beyond my reasonable mind and told me to stop and follow what my heart wanted. It felt so freeing. I was able to move forward and have been so grateful ever since.

It’s not a perfect way of knowing or making decisions by itself, but I think it’s too easily dismissed in Western culture, especially when it comes to business. And yet many highly successful people will tell you intuition has been a key to success and fulfillment. Why then would we keep ignoring it? And ignore it we do.

It’s not just for “intuitive people.” It’s for everyone. We can all cultivate it.

Here’s My Experience with Intuition

My intuition helps me with everyday decisions, including important personal decisions and running my business. I notice these benefits:

  • When I listen to my intuition, my decisions and actions feel easier, and I’m happier with the outcome. There’s a sense of flow.
  • When I don’t listen to it, there are either small consequences to pay like exhaustion, or larger consequences, like years down the wrong path. Oh, I’ve had the large consequences for sure.
  • The more I listen to my intuition, the more it speaks to me when I need it.
  • I know it played a pivotal role in meeting my beloved soulmate. That is a daily “Yes” feeling. It reminds me daily to hold out for the inner Yes in all areas of life.

I also notice these challenges:

  • Sometimes I forget to slow down and tune in, so I stay stuck wondering what to do.
  • I get impatient waiting for clarity. It’s not always on my timeline. Darn it.
  • Sometimes an easeful intuitive flash just happens, like grace, but my mind tries to dismiss it just as quickly, so I have to slow down and be with both the feelings and the reasoning, and cultivate the trust that clarity will come.
  • It’s not a “quick fix” kind of thing. I have to devote time to being available to hear it, including cultivating a quieter mind with meditation and walks in nature.
  • Sometimes I have ignored it because I was afraid to take a big leap that it seemed to point to. But I’ve learned that small steps are all it’s really calling me to do! Oh, that’s much easier. No cliff jumping required.

Intuition Saves Time and Heartache.

So much time is spent weighing our options in the reasoning part of our mind. It can drive us crazy and keep us stuck for years, in the wrong relationships, wrong careers, or stuckness in anything.

Imagine if we could tap into something that makes our decisions easier, and helps us feel happier with our decisions. That’s what intuition can do for all of us. I’m convinced by my experience, and the research, that our intuition is worth much more of our attention, and worth cultivating…for happiness and success.

Imagine the time savings. It’s so worth the time to slow down and listen.

When the heart speaks, as I believe it does with our intuitive “hits,” it’s telling us the path to happiness.

Doing what the heart wants makes it happy. It’s a simple equation.

Yes, But…

I know, questions and/or skepticism are kicking in as you consider these bold statements I’m making:

  • But what about reason and data?
  • Which inner voice is reliable?
  • Can I learn to hear it more easily?
  • I can’t just leave my job if I don’t feel like going anymore.

I’d love to discuss all that but it would take a book. Actually a workshop would do it. After I started writing this article, I heard the calling to create a workshop and now it’s in the works. Love when it flows like that.

For now I’ll say this. Sometimes it’s about embracing mystery and trusting what you feel. It’s good to also look at the data. But you and I both know from experience that a pros-and-cons list is never enough. Certainly that’s true in matters of love, but the same is true in matters of business and money.

Your intuition is far wiser than you think it is. I believe it even has logic built in to it. It’s not a perfect path to truth, but it deserves our attention, with every decision. I believe it’s telling us something we need. Reason alone is not perfect either.

Intuition Works Better Than “Shoulds.” A Networking Example.

You know that strategic “should” you did but it still didn’t work for you? Like when you went to that networking event and made yourself talk to five people and give them your business card and nothing happened? Yep, reason and the typical “strategy” alone is not enough. Your heart has better ideas in mind.

Next time you go to that networking event, just talk to who you want to talk to, even just one person, following your heart, and notice how much more fun AND more effective it is. I know, it goes against the networking “rules,” but it works. Meaningful conversations lead to meaningful business, if you’re being true to your heart.

Introverts are great at doing networking in this way, with deeper one-on-one conversations. Who knew introverts could be so good at networking? As an introvert, I stumbled on this method because I just couldn’t do it the extroverted way.

It’s All in the Blend.

Combining intuition and reason is where the gold is.

No, don’t let intuition completely run your business. But don’t let reason alone run it either. There’s a reason we have both.

Intuition synthesizes more impressions and information than we could ever analyze consciously.

For me, it works well to let intuition bring me the ideas. I check them out by testing the waters in small ways, and running some numbers, and then I check inside again at each step of the way. It’s back and forth, iterative. This feels good to me and has a sense of balance.

It’s not perfect. Nothing is. But it’s fun and effective over the long run.

Developing Your Intuition

For most people it is a skill that needs practice and development, especially because Western culture has taught us to mistrust it. Developing your intuition lets you reconnect to a wonderful gift inside of you that helps you have more of the life and success you want. It’s worth the time.

I’ve got an online workshop in the works so you can deepen your ability to access and follow your intuition at work. Visit me at www.valnelson.com for more like this and to sign up to get the news when the workshop is ready.

At least remember this:

When you don’t know what to do, do nothing. Get quiet so you can hear the still small voice — your inner GPS guiding you to true North.”
~Oprah Winfrey, who credits trusting her intuition as a key to her success.

A similar version of this article was originally written and published by Val Nelson at ValNelson.com on Jan. 26, 2018. I write about business and career for introverts and HSPs who want meaningful work without overwhelm. If you want more like this in your inbox, please subscribe to my updates.

--

--

Val Nelson

HSP + Introvert enjoying the freedom of self-employment. Experienced business/career coach helping you know and live the best use of you. https://valnelson.com