14 Things that Make Games Fun to Apply to Gamify life

Gamifying one’s life can be a remarkably effective way to boost motivation, productivity, and overall satisfaction.

Vibrant Jellyfilsh
4 min readJan 26, 2024

Psychology plays a significant role in making games interesting and can also be applied to gamify various aspects of life.

Photo by Bret Kavanaugh on Unsplash

Gamifying one’s life can be a remarkably effective way to boost motivation, productivity, and overall satisfaction. I find that setting goals, tracking progress, and rewarding achievements, just like in a video game, brings a sense of purpose and excitement to daily tasks.

For example, turning a fitness routine into a quest to earn points or completing work tasks within a time limit like a challenging level can transform mundane activities into engaging adventures. It’s a method that encourages me to stay on top of my responsibilities and continuously strive for self-improvement.

Incorporating gamification strategies in everyday life not only makes tasks more enjoyable but also helps me to stay organized. Creating a to-do list and setting points or rewards for completing each item turns mundane chores into a competitive game against myself. This not only keeps me accountable but also fosters a sense of accomplishment when I see those points add up over time.

--

--