What I Learnt From A Elderly Lady Who Never Finished Elementary School

Embracing Life’s Classroom And Learning From Those Who Learnt From It

Vibrant Jellyfilsh
3 min readJul 17, 2024
Photo by Mehmet Turgut Kirkgoz from Pexels: https://www.pexels.com/photo/elderly-woman-wearing-a-headscarf-13650950/

I remember a time when I was traveling and found myself in a small cabin on a path through the middle of nowhere. I got talking with the elderly lady who lived there, and rented out rooms occasionally, when some strange traveller like myself decided to walk far from any roads.

We talked long into the night, over a lovely bottle of wine, or two. our conversation meandered through many different topics, and I learnt a lot about her life, but also about many other things.

She hadn’t finished school. I not just high school, she hadn’t even finished primary school, she had been removed and had to focus on other priorities to assist with her family at the time. (and it was a different time.)

Given this fact, many people might wonder, what someone who hadn’t even finished the most basic of education could teach me.

The answer is a lot.

She taught me about the ways people saw the world, how people had looked down on her, while there was no need to, about the interesting people around her at that time. She taught me about travels she had as a youth, about cultures far away, things she had…

--

--