You Need To Do More Than “Write Every Day” to Improve

Or you don’t but you’ll improve better if you do this too, or instead of writing daily.

Vibrant Jellyfilsh
4 min readJul 3, 2024
Photo by Suzy Hazelwood from Pexels: https://www.pexels.com/photo/black-and-red-typewriter-on-white-table-3695297/

We are often told here on medium that the best way to improve our writing is to churn out articles.

Well, I did that for a year, publishing an article a day, all year, and while I think I improved some, I think I have learned that while doing something a lot, will help you improve, there are more efficient ways to improve, like doing so purposely.

It’s not the quantity but the the quality and the learning derived from each piece that truly make a difference in improving your craft.

Purposefulness

Purposefulness means writing with a clear intention and goal. Sometimes my goal is to get a message across, or to share something I’ve found, sometimes it’s just to get some writing practice in or to relax before bedtime.

Having this goal helps me to know how well (or how horribly) I am achieving it. Because ‘good writing’ can look very different when the aims are different.

When you approach each article or essay with a specific purpose in mind, you are more likely to produce meaningful and coherent work.

Learn from Mistakes

--

--