An Interview with Denise Bidot: Her Inspiration, Her Journey and What’s Next

Coco Cooper Denim
4 min readMay 18, 2017

--

The beautiful Denise Bidot is one of the most influential curve models of the time, inspiring women across the globe with her fight for size diversity and body positivity. As the first curvy model to walk the runway at New York Fashion Week in 2014, she has grown to become a leading lady and a pillar of the body diversity movement. Over the years, she has used her platform to spread a positive message and to empower women to be confident and to believe in themselves. During our interview with Denise Bidot, she told us about her inspiration, her journey and what’s next! Get inspired with Denise through Instagram @denisebidot.

“I love my curves.I love my waist. My hips. I feel like so much of it is who I am so I love it all.”

Denise Bidot’s inspiration to become a plus size model began as a fight for her own mother. Her mother struggled with her own weight, but Denise simply couldn’t understand why her mother wasn’t recognizing her true beauty. “I couldn’t understand why her weight was such a big focus for her and why she couldn’t see how beautiful she is.” When Denise Bidot reached “her rebellious years”, she realized that she had no interest in losing weight, mainly because she knew her natural shape wouldn’t allow her to. During our interview with Denise Bidot, she told us that today she loves every part of her body. “I love my curves.I love my waist. My hips. I feel like so much of it is who I am so I love it all.”

After moving to Los Angeles and working to establish her modeling career, she was consistently turned down and decided to pursue Cosmetology instead. Ironically, her work as a Make-Up Artist in the industry is how Denise Bidot was discovered as a plus size model. Her own story reminds her of how important it is to stand up for who you are. “I stand firmly to the fact that you shouldn’t have to change who you are to fit into any beauty standards or to be recognized in your job or to move forward in life. You should just be yourself.” Denise says.

“I stand firmly to the fact that you shouldn’t have to change who you are to fit into any beauty standards or to be recognized in your job or to move forward in life. You should just be yourself.”

While her motivation for getting up and going to work every day originally began with her mother, and her mother’s fight — it transformed when her daughter was born. “I realized how important it is to for me to continue the conversation for younger generations. For them to grow up never feeling insecure or never feeling like they’re going to miss out on some something because of an ‘imperfection’.”

Denise also draws inspiration from her fans. With her 328k (and counting) social media following and numerous international campaigns, women from all parts of the globe are inspired by Denise’s work and reach out to tell her their own story. “Every time I get a message or am told a story of how we’ve helped change women or how I can possibly help them is just more than enough of a desire to keep going.”

In July of 2016, Denise Bidot set out to create her own movement and launched There Is No Wrong Way To Be A Woman.The official launch of the movement took place at the Puerto Rican Day parade with her mother and daughter by her side. “I had been saying the phrase for so long and realized it really resonated. It’s not about size, it’s about diversity as a whole.” The #NoWrongWay movement is not only an incredible vehicle to raise awareness for diversity, but is also meant to be a safe space for all women. Along with pursuing an acting career (& possibly a book and a TV show), one of her main items on her 2017 bucket list is to grow the movement and we couldn’t be more excited!

“I had been saying the phrase for so long and realized it really resonated. It’s not about size, it’s about diversity as a whole.”

And of course, we asked Denise what she thinks of her Coco Cooper Roka Skinny Crop jeans in Sage. Her response? “I get compliments on those every time I wear them! I have been looking for olive jeans for so long, but I feel like they are always either too stretchy or more legging or ripped up, but those are the perfect classic pair. They will be in my wardrobe for the next 10 years. I love everything about them. I honestly found so many different ways to wear them already. I absolutely love them. They are a really good fit.”

Denise Bidot wearing Coco Cooper Denim.

“I absolutely love them. They are a really good fit.”

--

--