Matka

Vani Joshi
2 min readMay 14, 2017

Matka- earthen pot, they call me. As the spring season knocked today, on the occasion of Gudi Pawdwa (The Hindu new year) a new matka was brought to quench the thirst of my family for the coming scorching summer. It seemed as the new matka had brought a key to the vault of my memories. As it was being filled with water, my mind took off for a ride. A ride to the journey that I had lived.

A year ago I was sitting at the roadside along with my fellows, eagerly waiting for someone to take me along. The guy who sold us, used to beat me whenever a new customer came by to buy one of us. It felt weird but fellows said that the sound was an indication to my cooling ability. I had always envied some of my fellow pots who had ravishing designs painted on them. But eventually I realized that it was not how we looked that mattered but how perfectly we did our job of cooling the Adam’s ale. Finally I got my family. I was chosen by a boy who came with his father. I still remember the first time when I was quenched and filled with water. I had never felt so complete. A feeling that I had been waiting for ages!

Earthen Pots

The starting days were cozy. As the summer approached, I enjoyed getting more attention. Every now and then, people came to me. I was an important part of my family. But as they say, change is only constant. The rainy season approached and as we headed towards winter, I lost myself. Laying in a corner of the…

--

--