Why are Filipinos Good in English?

Vannida Antonis MA.
3 min readDec 3, 2023

I have taught English for many years. Before I became an ALT in Japan, I’ve been teaching English as a second language and some subjects with English as medium of instruction. I have done it both in the classroom & online. And, I’ve been asked by many students questions like – why are you so good at English when your native language is Filipino?

Let me tell you how I learned English in my country. And, perhaps it will unravel the difference on how you learn and improve it.

First, Filipinos typically learn English in the Philippines through formal education starting from elementary school. Spanish used to be the other main language back then. But, when the United States freed the Philippines from Spain in 1898 to 1946, they introduced English as the only medium of instruction in schools. They sent “Thomasites,” the very first American teachers in the Philippines. They replaced everything Spanish with an English-based education system that had a lasting impact. Up to now, English remains a major language of instruction and communication in the country.

Second, it is a required subject in the curriculum. When I was studying, the majority of the subjects were in English and only two were in Tagalog. My school was also strict in implementing English in the vicinity. The moment you step foot in school, you have to drop the Tagalog and switch to the second language. I even remember at the gate of my school there’s a signboard that says – “English Speaking Zone.” And sometimes, English teachers would come up with a petty punishment if you violate this rule.

Third, instruction in higher education is often conducted in English as well. If you are fluent in English, you probably went to a good college or university. So, proficiency in English is often associated with educational success. It is considered the official language used at work – the professional language used in government, education, and business.

Fourth, there’s also a lot of exposure to English media in the Philippines. It contributes easily to the language acquisition. We have access to a lot of English movie channels, TV shows, and music. Back then, I remember, we had cable TV and there were so many international channels to choose from – CNN, Star Movies International, Cartoon Network, Studio 23, and Channel V to name a few. My favourite channels were HBO & MTV. When you turn on the radio, you get to listen to Filipino-American DJ’s.

Lastly, many Filipinos also use English in their daily communication. You will often hear English in the household aside from Tagalog. It’s just basically a part of the everyday conversation.

So there. Do you see differences in how you acquire the English language?

Filipinos have gained proficiency in the English language that they have become English teachers and tutors, both in traditional educational settings and online platforms. And, many Filipinos also work as English as a Second Language (ESL) teachers in various parts of the world. Just like me!

Thank you for reading my article & watch out for my next articles

--

--

Vannida Antonis MA.

- Educator, teacher, trainer, progress-oriented, experienced