Designing a “Start Here” Page for a Creator to display their best work in a place.

In this case study, I will break down my thought process for designing a webpage for a creator that aggregates their info on the web.

Vansh Goel
5 min readDec 30, 2022

👀Background

I was a part of 10k Designers ( Cohort 5 ), In one of our assignments, we were assigned to design a webpage for a creator and practice visual design in Figma along with some simple problem-solving and design processes.

The exact brief was:

Design a web page for a creator that acts as a “Start here” page that aggregates their info on the web and their best work in one place.

Let’s start.

🚩Problem Statement

Problem of discoverability by creating a “Start here” page that collects all their links and shows the highlights from their body of work.

✨Final Design

Before starting out with the Case Study here is the Final Design of the Webpage.

🤔Why did I choose Jay Kapoor?

You might be thinking why did I choose Jay Kapoor in spite of anyone out there? I choose him because I want to do this assignment for someone who I actually follow. I am following him since 2016 and I think he provides a lot of value in his content. Also, currently, he does not have a website.

💁🏻How this website can Impact him?

  • Since he has a large body of work many viewers don’t know about his other work. So, the start here page is going to help his viewers to know more about his work.
  • He will be able to use this link in his bio on platforms like Twitter and Instagram and viewers can see all details about him in one place.
  • His viewers or Brands can reach out to him regarding any promotions or any other query.

⚙️Process

I try to implement what I learned so far and use the design process which helps me break down a project into small stages which are easier to handle.

I keep asking myself at every step “ Is this enough to move forward” if the answer is yes I proceed to the next one. Whenever I feel stuck or facing any difficulty I go back to previous steps to reevaluate the earlier decisions this helps me tackle the problem during the project.

Non-Linear Process

🧭Research and explore

I started the work by doing some research on him and trying to collect his work. My aim was to collect more and more information about him and later I can choose what to put or what not.

💡Key Insights -

  • Content on social media with 1 million plus followers.
  • Newsletter with 10K + subscribers.
  • He also has some Apps and one app has 5M+ downloads on Play Store.
  • India’s youngest Youtuber who crossed 1 Lakh Subscribers.

🔬Competitive analysis

After some research, then I go to find some inspiration to find out how other creators are solving their discoverability problem and how they are showcasing their work. I try to get insights from them which helps me in creating my mood board.

For inspiration, I especially look for websites of other content creators. Here are some of the cool content creators’ websites that I looked into:

🧠IA

After Research and exploration, I create Information architecture to get a birds-eye view and to know what to put in each section of the website.
I make sure to think about the hierarchy of sections and prioritization of information inside each section.

Information Architecture helps me to know what to include and when to include it.

🧱Wireframes

After working on Information architecture, now I start making paper wireframes and then low-fidelity wireframes to get a rough idea of how my information will look in design.

🌠Visual design

As I have seen in Jay’s videos he is very calm in nature and has a positive vibe, to match up with his personality I used green as my primary color. As green denotes calm vibes. And use Orange and turmeric as an accent color as it goes well with Green color.

🕹️Prototype

✍️ My Learnings

  • You can take inspiration from anywhere. Don’t limit yourself by just taking inspiration from your product niche.
  • One thing that really helped me is asking a question to myself is this enough to move forward? if the answer is yes then I move forward. This helps me build my forward momentum in such big projects.
  • Iterating and taking feedback at early stages can help in saving a lot of time.
  • By writing this case study — I learned how to present the information in a structured way.
  • Make your internal deadlines and follow them sincerely.

🙏Thankyou

Thank you for reading this till the end. I hope it was worth reading it.

For any feedback feel free to reach out to me on Twitter, Linkedin, or Email me.

I’m currently open to opportunities as a Product and UI/UX designer.

--

--