A Game for the Future- Play.

Vansh Jain
4 min readMar 21, 2022

This is the first of the two endings that I have written for ‘A Game for the Future.’ Thank you for reading so far and I hope you enjoy it.

“HE HAS RETURNED, EVERYBODY!!! OUR FAVOURITE PLAYER, MR BHATIAAAAA!!!!!!”

The Game Master knew the stakes. It was his final chance. If he didn’t do this right, he wouldn’t be able to get what he wants. The game was truly on now. He turns back to the seats, watching Rahul slowly walk to the seats. The Game Master looked at Mr Bhatia carefully. He looked tired and defeated.

Good. This will be easy,” he whispers. “MR BHATIA! Ah, you have finally returned. I assume you have decided?”

“I’ll play as long as you let Divya go. I’ll do whatever you want. Just let her go.”

“Of course, of course. I’ll let her go. After you finish here, that is.”

“Yeah. I get it. Give me the gun.”

The Game Master’s eyes lit up. All was going according to plan. He watches Mr Bhatia pick up the gun once again. One last time.

“Choose carefully, Mr Bhatia. You are deciding who leaves and who stays.”

“I understand. I got it.”

The Game Master noticed that Mr Bhatia sounded tired. He would be, considering what he has been going through. But he doesn’t remember everything. What he went through before. The previous trials were much worse.

‘BANG!’

The gunshot rang out throughout the auditorium. The Game Master’s face lit up. Mr Bhatia did it. The hole was in front of the person on the right.

“You decided. Well, let us see who you decided to let go.”

The Game Master walked up to the person tied up and removed the bag on their head. It was Divya.

“OH GOD, DIVYA! OH FUCK!”

“Well decided, Mr Bhatia. Your sister gets to leave.”

“Thank you. Thank you so much.”

“Oh don’t thank me yet.”

‘BANG!’

The Game Master moves aside and watches Divya fall to the ground. Like a puppet who has lost its strings, she falls to the ground haphazardly. It seemed like slow motion, her fall. The surprise on her face, her arms instinctively clutching her abdomen and her hair flowing up as she falls.

“NOOOOOO!!! WHAT THE FUCK?! DIVYAAAA!!!!”

Mr Bhatia begins to run towards his sister, stumbles and lands right next to her limp body.

“No, no, no, Divya. No, don't leave me. Please don't.”

Mr Bhatia held his sister up from the head, crying and whispering things. He has been broken. The Game Master knew the time was now. He needs to carry the rest of the plan out.

“Mr Bhatia, the game is not over yet. You must play on. For your sake and for Divya.”

“NO. DON’T YOU SAY HER NAME, YOU FUCKING BASTARD! YOU TOLD ME THAT YOU WOULD LET HER GO! YOU FUCKING SAID THAT!”

“I held up my side of the bargain. I let her go. From this world, that is.”

“No, no, no, no, no…. Divya. No… Please God, no. No.”

“There is nothing you can do now, Mr Bhatia. You must keep playing or it will get worse.”

“Huh? What? ‘Keep playing?’ WHAT SORT OF DEGENERATE ASSHOLE ARE YOU?! MY SISTER IS LYING DEAD HERE AND YOU WANT ME TO PLAY A FUCKING GAME WITH YOU?!”

“I am sorry. But you have no choice. Next time then.”

The Game Master watches as Rahul is shot with a dart. He sees his face turn droopy and Rahul falls asleep on the ground.

“It didn’t work. Your analysts were wrong, sir. I did tell you that he would react like that.”

A figure steps into the light. Wearing a completely black suit, the person looked like a man with power.

“Indeed you did say so. Guess those analysts aren’t going to have a nice evening.”

“Guess they aren’t. So, what now?”

“We run it again. And again if it doesn’t work. The Company wants the data. They sent me here to ensure it all goes smoothly. Clearly, it hasn’t. I shall leave it in your capable hands then. But we need the results and fast.”

“You know, I still don’t understand what the data is needed for. What are we doing here?”

“That is none of your concern. All you need to know is that you need to finish the job. No matter how many runs you need to do. We need the results. Let’s hope he chooses to run this time.”

“Of course, sir. I shall get right back. Time to reset everything.”

“Have fun.”

Thank you for reading and for choosing this path. I hope you had fun reading the story and do tell me what you thought of it. I’d love to write more like this.

--

--

Vansh Jain

An aspiring writer. I write stories and things that hit you in the feels.