Day 169 of Azerbaijani “Eco-Activism”

Varak Ghazarian
2 min readJun 6, 2023

--

The day was March 23, 2018, and I was in Nor Brajur, Artsakh. Here is a journal entry from that day:

“I was in and out of sleep the entire night. I woke up and walked with the host’s son, Mikael, to their old house, where he showed me an old xachkar. We took a selfie and I was off. I was invited in for coffee in the neighboring village and then continued. On the way, I said hello to a group of builders working on a building, had some coffee, and talked for about half an hour. A boy name Hovhannes from Sonasar was very well informed about his village, its history, and its surroundings. I then made my way to St Astvatsatsin church which was built in the 13th century. It wasn’t well maintained, but once I entered the church, a child’s presence invaded my body, which made me uncomfortable. Strange energies and spirits lurking. However, it was surrounded by trees and greenery which made me comfortable again. I departed and ran into a waterfall where I stopped to refresh. I passed a house built below a towering mountain, covered with lush greenery, white apricot trees, and yellow flowered trees. Pure bliss. I made my way into the Dadivank school, where I not only spoke with the students but also the teachers about health. We made a poster where everyone wrote what health means to them and posted it on the wall. We then played some soccer before heading off to my host family’s house, ate dinner, and made my way to the Dadivank Monastery. What a beautiful church with its ancient 4th century remains still somehow intact, lying within breathtaking nature. What a sight. I took a couple of minutes to breathe to restore my energy before making my way home. Until tomorrow…” (March 23, 2018)

5/29/23

Dadivank, Artsakh (2018)

--

--