Album Notes #1 Searching Skies

M. Berg
2 min readJan 29, 2022

--

This post is inspired by this post by Nia Simone McLeod.

I decided to take on the challenge and misinterpret it as a writing prompt. I will write about my impressions of each album, not a review, or possibly some kind of mini-review if you will. Let’s just say that I will share my thoughts and highlight my favorite songs. Maybe we can compare notes later?

The rules:

  1. New music means new to me, not recent.

2. it can be any kind of release like EPs, mixtapes, compilation albums, etc

3. If I don’t like a song within one minute, skipping to the next one is ok. The idea is to give every song a chance.

cover image from discogs.com

I recently stumbled upon Tel Aviv-based J.Lamotta in a forum post and have watched a few live performances on youtube. So this challenge is a perfect excuse to listen through her most recent album.

On a whole there this release has a bit more of a beat-based vibe than the more jazz and soul-based songs I have heard from J.Lamotta before. I like it. This album is a collaboration with producer and DJ BudaMunk who comes from the beat battle scene, this could explain the sound.

I have been listening to a lot of Lo-Fi hip hop during the quarantine, it seems to be a thing. And this could be put into that category, it deviates from the formula once in a while, a good thing.

In summary, I like the production of this album, the glitchy textures, and beats in particular and at times the vocal production Is spot on.

Favorite songs:

  • Eyes to the Skies. Nice textures, good vocal production, and a laid-back vibe. All about the mood.
  • Carry on. A cool vocal melody in the first part of the song and I love the flute-like sample.
  • Open your mind. I love the whole song.

--

--

M. Berg

Media technologist by day. By night I explore obscure music and sounds. Passionate about storytelling, music and technology.