Album Notes #2 Absolutely

M. Berg
2 min readJan 31, 2022

--

dijondijon.com

I can’t figure this one out, it doesn’t make sense to me, and I love it.

My brain needs to categorize music into genres and references. This album makes it incredibly hard. Is it Soul? or Americana? or is it low-key singer-songwriter pop or Springsteenesque rock? When my brain has accepted that it is a wonderful melting pot of all the above Dijon throws in a freakin breakbeat. There is plenty of emotion both in the slower songs and the uptempo bangers.

Big Mike’s. This track is stunning. It sounds like it could have been pieced together from fragments of sound checks, band practices, and jam sessions. It has a very lively feeling, a great stomping rhythm, fuzzed guitars dangerously near full howl-round. The vocals are very “roomy”, emotional. And think I can hear a bottle being opened in there somewhere.

Talk Down. I love the rhythmic loop and Dijon’s vocals that kind of flow outside the confines of the rhythm. a simple and effective song.

Rodeo Clown. Great lyrics and a soulful song about one-sided love. there is constant movement in the song. Under the guitar and bass, different sound effects and instruments create texture and add to the arrangement.

As I mentioned in the beginning I like to consider the references of songs and artists and this album is giving my brain a proper workout. did I mention I love it?

This post is inspired by Nia Simone McLeod

I decided to take on the challenge and misinterpret it as a writing prompt. I will write about my impressions of each album, not a review, or possibly some kind of mini-review if you will. Let’s just say that I will share my thoughts and highlight my favorite songs. Maybe we can compare notes later?

The rules:

  1. New music means new to me, not recent.

2. it can be any kind of release like EPs, mixtapes, compilation albums, etc

3. If I don’t like a song within one minute, skipping to the next one is ok. The idea is to give every song a chance.

--

--

M. Berg

Media technologist by day. By night I explore obscure music and sounds. Passionate about storytelling, music and technology.