Unexpected friendships are the best.

What Vanishya Feelsđź©·
5 min readJan 25, 2024

--

“Friendship”, a very beautiful word that describes a great bond between humans not related by blood. Isn’t this a great relation that we share among ourselves.

Last night, when my mind was on its own tour, travelling back to those beautiful memories, I realized what was the role of this “friendship” in my life. It made me realize how different it is from other relations in our lives.

Each one of us have met so many people in our journey through our life at its different stages. I remember when I had my first friend at the age of 3. All I remember from that age is trying to draw an apple and painting it pink instead of red, as it was her favourite color(hahaha). Then while growing up, I met so many people, who gave me some of the most beautiful memories of my childhood. The fun I had with them in those school picnics, watching movies together, dancing with them in the rain( and catching cold, aaachhuuu!), celebrating so many birthdays, exchanging notes for the exam preparation, late night study sessions, and many more.

Then I went to the college and boooommm, the life changed in so many ways. Leaving home is tough, especially when you have never stayed away, like even for a few days. But here I met so many other people again, and after two good years of leaving home, I can say that I have learned so much here. I learned the best survival cooking, enjoyed late night group discussion, handling people in their emotional breakdowns, having our happy moments with each other, and capturing them in the form of pictures to make it memorable. I met people who are entirely different from me, from different places following different cultures. All of us are connected only with one thing, that we are all staying at the same place, away from our homes each one of us missing our family. All we have is each other to share this place and our feelings.

In all these 21 years of my life, I met my friends either due to being in the same age group, living in the same place, same school , same art classes. Some of them I had met through common friends whiles some have been good acquaintances turned into good friends. But, the best one I can say, were the unexpected ones.

Each one of us has a friend who we thought was an unexpected one. We never expected them to be a part of our life. Maybe we never even might have considered them as the potential people for our friendships, despite all this we have them in our life. That is highly unexpected, right? I have many such friends who I think became a part of my life unexpectedly. I feel blessed to have them in my life.

Why these unexpected friendships are the best ones?

Image source: Google

It’s because these friendships are not based on any reason. We don’t need reasons to keep these friendships. Thinking of an individual completely different from what we are. We do not have anything in common, and we just met somewhere and clicked with each other just through some point in the conversation. We never thought of meeting them, and we met. Maybe some of us must have crossed each others paths earlier and how least we had expected to meet each other, again least expected to be friends. And here we are experiencing this journey with our now stranger turned friend. The unexpected friendships are all like that, “ strangers turned into friends”, and each one of it has a story to it.

Isn’t this extremely cool. How beautiful that bond is which bloomed out of just interest and not due to any reason. Doesn’t it feel like these were the special cases in the court of the God and so they happened to be in existence. Or it feels like they were actually meant to be so.

So many of us have met some of our closest friends like that, right. And we all have to agree that those are one of the most beautiful friends we have ever made and are extremely proud to have them.

For me, anything that is unexpected is a surprise, and surprises are always meant to be great. These unexpected bonds are the ones that were the most beautiful ones. Its a different essence that they hold in themselves. They make you feel that life is so full of surprises and love. They also make it easier for you to appreciate a different taste. Having these unexpected ones actually makes a part of ourselves quite similar to these people after a while, and we start feeling as if this was what we needed in our life. An extra flavor of spice all together, creating a new dish.

This made me realize that there are so many people whom I have not met yet. So many of them are out there who hold the potential of having such friendships. We never know at which stage of life we get to meet some stranger and form such an unbreakable bond with them. But, these bonds are the ones that are cherished the most. Each time we have a conversation with these people, we always wonder how we turned out so lucky to have them in our lives. We realize that we actually had missed this flavor, “their flavor”.

image source: google

And so the unexpected friendships always turns out to be good one. I have never regretted any of them. I feel they added more colors to my character, added more flavors to my life and made it more adventurous to live. These friendships never had any strings attached to them. For me, they never had any reasons attached to them. They just walked into my life and happened without any effort. And that’s what made them special for me.

image source: google

All I can say is that these unexpected friendships are the best. I wish each one of us to find and form many such beautiful and unexpected friendships in our journey .

--

--