Why I’m not a Fan of Facebook Likes as a Creative

varun sharma
2 min readAug 14, 2016

--

Though I tread the waters of entrepreneurship, I also have a creative side. I write poetry once in a while and share it on my private Facebook page. I get 25 Likes on an average from my 200 something friends and followers.

I look at my phone as my handful of Likes are doled out but I don’t rejoice in them. To tell the truth, they don’t even make me happy nowadays. The story is different when someone presses the Share button.

As someone who takes the time to create something, I want my work to reach millions (okay, few hundred?) of people, including the ones I know and ones I don’t. Likes aren’t much help in that.

I know the joy when your work is shared, and that’s why I mostly press the Share Now button when I come across something original. Especially the ones who have just started. They need all the motivation and support they can get.

Likes are fine too. I don’t hate them. I will probably start crying if my average dropped. But Shares are what really make me happy. Also, comments.

Comments matter. They whisper that someone liked your work enough to take the time to spare some words. It means a lot really.

Besides an observation, this post (my first) is also a humble request.

Please share more often whenever you come across something original and you like it. I guarantee you will make someone’s day :)

--

--

varun sharma

Founder and Growth manager at @up_reports . Helping online businesses with #traffic, sales, and leads. DM for help.