My Zoho Off-campus Interview Experience — March 2024

Vasanth Kumar
2 min readMar 31, 2024

--

Hi everyone, I’m Vasanth, and I recently had the opportunity to participate in Zoho’s off-campus drive in March 2024. I’d like to share my experience and provide insights into the interview process and the questions asked.

Understanding the Zoho Interview Process:

The Zoho interview process consists of four rounds:

  1. Aptitude Round: This round comprises 20 questions, including 10 “Guess the output” programming questions and 10 quantitative aptitude questions.
  2. Short Coding Round: Candidates are given five coding questions to solve. The minimum cutoff may vary but in my case, it was to solve a minimum of four questions. This round is conducted in batches and monitored by Zoho employees.
  3. Long Coding Round: Here, candidates may be asked to design an application and write the code, or solve algorithm and data structure (DSA) questions. I encountered DSA questions tagged as the hardest of medium problems.
  4. HR Round: The final round involves discussions on educational background, family background, expectations from Zoho, and alternative plans if not selected.

My Experience:

  • Aptitude Round: I managed to solve 9 out of 10 programming questions and 6 out of 10 quantitative questions, which helped me proceed to the next round.
  • Short Coding Round: I successfully solved 4 out of 5 problems, meeting the cutoff criteria for this round.
  • Long Coding Round: In this one-on-one round, I faced three DSA problems. Additionally, I was asked about my projects and requested to show code from GitHub.
  • HR Round: The HR round covered general questions about my background, educational journey, family, reasons for choosing Zoho, and alternative career plans.

DSA Problems Asked in Zoho:

Short Coding:

  1. Program to generate all possible valid IP addresses from a given string.
  2. Reverse a specific range in a linked list with dynamic memory allocation.
  3. Program to check whether a string is a palindrome.
  4. Text justification.
  5. Reading and writing data to a file with mathematical calculations.

Long Coding:

  1. Remove consecutive same characters from a string.
  2. Find the maximum value you can obtain from an array without selecting consecutive elements.
  3. Analyzing the Fibonacci sequence space and time complexity. They expected to go from brute force to optimal dp solution.

Conclusion:

I am thrilled to share that I got selected in Zoho for Member of Technical Staff. Overall, the interview process was smooth yet challenging, allowing me to showcase my skills and problem-solving abilities.

Feel free to connect with me on LinkedIn, LeetCode, GitHub.

If you’re preparing for interviews, I hope my experience provides some valuable insights. Good luck on your journey!

--

--