From the economic crisis in Greece to Unites States with a full fellowship

Vasiliki Ntampasi
3 min readJan 26, 2018

--

The story begins in early February 2017 when I saw the YTILI, a program sponsored by the U.S. Department of State and the German Marshall Fund of the United States. Without a second thought and almost close to the deadline for submission (2 days before), I decided to file an application in the hope that I would be among the lucky ones. In early March, the US Embassy in Athens invited me for the first interview, having my application passed to the semi-finals. My joy and my anguish is great (but I had second thoughts such as competition among other applicants, as every young entrepreneur in my country struggling to create something new is commendable and he deserves such opportunities). But even more happy and proud for me and my team felt on March 24, 2017. The country was preparing to festive its Independence day and I was celebrating for my ticket and my full fellowship to move for almost a month in United States, the country of real business, the “Mecca of the Startups”!

So, from the country of the crisis, I found myself in Department of State in the United States, to represent Greece in order to transfer the situation in our country, but above all to learn new methods/ techniques/ideas and to acquire new stimuli for how we can bring the revolution to the economy and business life in Greece.

I do not really know what I have to say first for this journey, it was a life experience. People there, the discussions, the presentations were amazing! In the United States it is so easy to find people relevant to your activity and they are always willing to spend time, not only to listen to you but also to advise and recommend you to others! That’s exactly what a startup needs! People who are years ahead of us, with a great business mindset and can guide us properly by placing us on the world map and not just in the Greek context.

Through and thanks to YTILI program I had the opportunity to be a member of the Ventureprise, an Incubator at the University of Charlotte in North Carolina. Yes, an incubator inside the University! Something not so common in Greece, where the companies and the universities are not aligned and they are working in different directions. I discussed and worked with other young entrepreneurs who have an innovative idea to offer and work with the same loyalty. We look similar at a number of points, but we differ in many things, such as taxation system, opportunities for pilot testing and funding, expert’s guidance, connections in the real market, etc.

I can not say that everything in the United States is easy, it needs a lot of work, patience and perseverance in order to succeed. But surely it is a country that even a crazy idea can be transformed to a real business. You do not need to be rich or to have a wealthy family. The ecosystem itself is the key that helps you get ahead!

As a conclusion of the trip, I feel really lucky for the opportunity was given to me! I came back in Greece with my suitcase full of experiences, advice and new ideas. I really recommend it! And remember, define your own destiny! Go out, discuss your idea, and get feedback to move on! This is the only way to become better day after day!

--

--