Playing a song on loop

Vidy
1 min readFeb 6, 2019

--

I don’t remember where I picked this up, it was probably from an episode of Tim Ferris’ podcast. But I’ve found this to be an incredibly effective technique when working and exercising. I usually choose a song, something rhythmic or something high-energy or even something super chill — depending on the mood. I then set the song on loop. I listen to the same song over and over again as I go about my task. I’m not entirely sure how this effects my brain but it sure feels good and gets me into flow quickly. My guess is that the song on repeat helps calm down the brain chatter and lets my subconscious take over. Basically setting my brain on auto-pilot. When I’m working like this, I tend to forget time passing by and some of the most insane ideas tend to pop up out of nowhere. It’s also incredibly therapeutic.

In case you were wondering, I was listening to the song posted below as I wrote this. I’ve been listening to it all day.

--

--