How Abundance decides your day

Venus Nautiyal
4 min readSep 24, 2018

--

Since the beginning of this month I was struggling to find a passionate topic to share. Although the topic I’m writing about, I feel very strongly connected to, but honestly I had no logical way to prove it. Now I do.

**Disclaimer- These are my personal point of views and I’m very open to take productive feedback. Meanwhile, in the world of sinister cyber vices, let’s try to exhibit positivity while we do that 🙂

Now, let’s take a step back- first let me explain what I mean by “abundance” and then how it decides your day.

Abundance

What comes to your mind when you hear “abundance”?- a wide work desk, lots of seats on your commute to work, open sky, green fields — I think you get the idea. And that is exactly what I mean, and a bit more in depth than that.

Going out to your balcony or backyard in the morning and taking a deep breath, filling in your cereal container before it gets empty (in my case, my spice box), removing clutter from wide counter spaces, viewing out of the window a few times during the day instead of horse-eyeing your smartphone/laptop.

I started inculcating all these practices into my daily routine and honestly felt a wave of productivity coming my way because it took off the pressure that one feels being boxed into that moment.

It’s effect

Let’s take this step by step-

For example, taking a deep breath early morning in my balcony made me realise there are bigger things than just getting into the mad rush of work & home on this very day. I have a beautiful balcony! I see these little plants growing every single day and this season is good for lavender to grow. The breeze is nice this morning.
And, I practiced this five minute exercise for the entire month last month & in order to prove my productivity I began plotting a daily graph (seriously!) for the purpose of my blog (depicting day vs happiness). A week into it, I realised happiness is quite a relative term. And it would still not prove my point.

At this point I could go ahead explaining how each of those practices keep me focused where I don’t need to worry about another thread of work, but let’s keep this article a short one. If you feel I must, let me know — I could do a follow-up post, also explaining How I introduced these practices. They come with a price to pay, yes.

Personal Outcomes

Viewing abundance and surrounding yourself with abundance has a lot to do with productivity and yes, success! There is a reason there are mindful practices to thank the universe for what you’ve already got- in order to avoid the feeling of scarcity.

We, in the culture of good hustle and constant comparison, need to stop overcomplicating, overthinking, and (may I coin this term) overcomparing. And thus deciding our little daily decisions that in turn fill up our larger pond of day with productivity.

You’ll start asking better questions, thinking more widely, being less stressed, taking better decisions, being more happy, being childlike satisfied.

Proof

And somewhere along the course of this month, I stumbled upon a Harvard Business Review article that suggests 2018’s number one perk in an office space is not free food, sleep pods or treadmill desk — but natural light ☼

Let me know if you relate, or have suggestions to add. Do you reckon you’ve been practicing abundance driven exercises into your daily routine but are simply not aware? Or have you heard of such an analysis before? What do you do to include abundance in your day?

And as always, hope my analysis provides a new perspective to your routine and adds to your already abundant life.

All images are drawn and copyrighted © by Venus Nautiyal. In order to use any images please acquire prior written permission from the artist.

--

--

Venus Nautiyal

Product Manager | Passionate about art, traveling and spreading compassionate behaviour.