Depression Era then and now.

Vernon Harris
3 min readMar 23, 2020

--

As told by the upcoming top selling Realtor in Northern Virginia

There was a time when the old guys on my job at the railroad, a few of them would walk around with three or four uncashevery large property investor in Hampton Roads, the holder of five hundred plus properties, does not wear a suit or even a tie. This man carries a checkbook as cash and has used it to purchase several homes on the spot on any given day of the week. These are men whom I used to talk with everyday. Of course, due to my personality, I felt compelled to always talk with them to learn and glean wisdom from them.
One common thread among them was they grew up either through or after the devastating effects of the Great Depression. The Great Depression occurred from 1929 until 1939, This was a time when consumer confidence vanished in the wake of the stock market crash, the downturn in spending and investment led factories and other businesses to slow down production and begin firing their workers. For those who were lucky enough to remain employed, wages fell and buying power decreased.
My friends would speak of hardships they endured and the difficulty just to have a meal on the table. To them, putting money into a jar and burying it was not a joke as it was to me, but to them it was a possibility and a very real plan B, even in the 1990s. The distrust for anyone in government also was another theme that ran through men from that era. They have a strong self reliance and, probably due to military service, a strong sense of patriotism. Although they don’t fully believe the promises of the Commander in Chief, they do know this country is the best, strongest country in the world and they always have a few harsh words for someone who dissented from that stance.
I love the older generation I have been blessed to work with and associated with on whatever level. I would tell them of my ambition to be the top real estate agent in Virginia. They never laughed they truly made me feel I could do it. They have taught me and those of my generation the importance of prospective and rational thinking.
The times we face today do not mirror the Stock Market Crash leading to the Great Depression. Since the conditions we face now are not the same that led to the Depression the potential of a Great Depression would not be a linear reasonable expectation for this day in time. I ask the reader to read on their own in order to discover the differences. Just know we are survivors and do not let the powerful influences of media deter us from logical, rational thinking.

Soon to be top producing real estate agent in Northern Virginia.
Vernon Harris
Vernonsellshomes4u@gmail.com

--

--

Vernon Harris
0 Followers

I am a dedicated real estate agent, qualified to guide you in buying, selling and investing. I am skilled at contract negotiations and marketing.