How Much Money I Really made as a Lyft Driver

The Tips, Tricks and Secrets of Driving For Lyft Rideshare (With Infographics)

Vernon Johnson
9 min readMay 6, 2017

Do you even Lyft, bro?

I remember back in 2012 first seeing the strange pink mustaches on cars driving around Chicago. It was weird, but I instantly wanted to try it. Mostly because I love that we live in a world where we can get in a complete stranger’s car and we trust them. Come on! That’s weird, and it shouldn’t be. Thankfully, the economy and culture is changing/has changed.

For whatever reason I didn’t sign up until April of 2017. Though now was as good a time as ever.

I had 4 goals and/or reasons for driving:

  1. Finish paying off one of our cars ASAP (we had roughly $1700 left).
  2. Get the signing bonus (to help with goal #1).
  3. Meet new people.
  4. Find out exactly how much Rideshare drivers make. (I’m a bit of a data nerd, so crunching the numbers got me pretty excited.)

I had these goals from the very beginning and I’m glad I did. These goals really pushed me even though there was some late nights, early mornings and a few hours of driving.

--

--

Vernon Johnson

Husband + Dad of 4. Thoughts on Work, life, and Storytelling.