Did I Really Wake Up To 500 Followers?

Veronica Llorca-Smith
2 min readOct 18, 2022
Champagne bottle opening with confetti coming out
Photo Credit: Myriam Zilles — Unsplash

This message is dedicated to you, the new writer who has just landed and is feeling invisible.

I know the feeling because I was you one month ago: I was parachuted here at the end of August and after a couple of weeks of writing daily, I couldn’t hear any clapping. It was a sad concert but at least here the audience can’t throw (virtual) tomatoes at you, so things could be worse.

I actually thought of cancelling my membership after 2 weeks because nothing happened, really, so I thought it was just not the right place for me. No hard feelings.

I just want you to know that the first few weeks are the hardest. You are like the empty restaurant no one dares to go in just because it’s empty, perpetuating the void.

When you face rejection, you either make it or break it. The good news is that it’s totally up to you!

The secret recipe

I am not going to share tips in this article because I have shared my “magic” in previous ones talking about formatting, how to get to 100 Followers and actionable do’s.

This message is just to say that you are not alone but you have to put the work. You have to show up, press publish, engage, follow, connect and repeat all…

--

--