10 Reasons Series: Why I wanted to be a Podcaster?

Veronica Mam
3 min readMar 11, 2024

--

Photo by Matt Botsford on Unsplash

Podcast started way back in 2003 by Radio Open Source by Christopher Lydon(Google), and Indicast was the first Indian Podcast Show, started by Abhishek Kumar and Aditya Mhatre, in the year 2005.

Have any of you wondered who coined the name Podcast? And why the name Podcast? Answer honestly in comments!!! Why part you can Google, but have you ever wondered, do share that honestly as I would love to hear from you:)

Getting back on the Topic, here are the 10 reasons on why I wanted to be a Podcaster!

  1. Zero Investment: Before getting into the know-how of podcasting, like any other person (That I know of), I googled on “How to Podcast for Free?” — Will share my experience soon!As and when I started to realize that all I need is a good built in Mike and a free app to record and edit, I began exploring that option!
  2. Opportunity to work on myself: I am not much of a speaker. I don’t use fancy words, I don’t use heavy-duty technical terms to project what I know and more importantly, I am not confident when it comes to speaking out!Be it professionally or personally, one feedback has always been constant is that I am shy and I need to open up more. Now, if I want to host a podcast show(no matter what format) I need to speak. I found this a good opportunity to work on myself.
  3. ALL EARS ON ME: I am an audio podcaster, that means that my face is not what connects people but my voice. What I discovered was that public speaking was a task because all eyes were on ME! When it comes to Podcasting, it has to be ALL EARS ON ME.
  4. Recorded not LIVE: Being a recorded session, I felt at ease as only when I am happy would I put my content out there.
  5. Business Networking: I like researching people. And what a legit way to do so, by inviting them as guests. Not only do you get to connect with awesome people, but also get to learn from them as well.
  6. Showcase your expertise: Another reason what pushed me to be a podcast host was to place myself as an expert on relevant topic.
  7. Veronica Mam means Podcasting: People know me as a Mother, daughter, Wife and Co-founder. But I wanted VERONICA MAM to have some weightage. My personal Goal: Veronica Mam means Podcasting
  8. Work From Home: I was looking for something where I get to work from home, comfort of my home, my time. Podcasting helps me to have an identity of my own at the same time escape from the 9am-7 pm job cycle.
  9. Writing skills: Podcasting needs to be supported by written content. Content Writing helped me get in touch with my childhood passion which made it more rewarding and comforting
  10. Content ONLY Matters: Looks don’t matter, accent doesn’t matter what matters is your content. This is my safe zone. All I have to work on is to ensure that the content out there is relevant and pulling the audience (Still working on it).

Follow Insiders Talk on LinkedIn to get to know regarding new episodes

You can also Follow me on Spotify

Leave your comments as I would to hear from you!

--

--

Veronica Mam

Beyond the headlines, into the minds of the leaders. 🏅2000+ Active Listeners 🎙️50 + Episodes