How To Manage Grief During This Easter Holiday

Veronica Ruggiero
3 min readMar 31, 2024

Me and my dad, Easter of 2019

I want to start by saying, if you’ve lost a loved one I am deeply sorry and I can imagine the depth of pain and sorrow you must be feeling. I personally lost my dad in 2021 to lung cancer, along with my bestfriend Jay only a month prior due to Covid. Grief is a heavy burden to carry, and when it coincides with a holiday like Easter, it can feel even more challenging to navigate. As someone who has experienced profound loss myself, I understand the complexities of grieving during a time that is supposed to be filled with joy and celebration.

Easter, with its themes of renewal, hope, and rebirth, can serve as a poignant reminder of the absence of our loved ones. The empty chair at the dinner table, the missing voice in the conversations, and the memories of past celebrations can all amplify the sense of loss and longing. It is okay to feel a mix of emotions during this time — sadness, anger, guilt, confusion, and even moments of peace or acceptance. Grief is not a linear process; it ebbs and flows like the tide, and it is important to allow yourself the space to experience and express these emotions.

One of the most important things I have learned in my own journey of grief is the power of self-compassion. It is natural to feel overwhelmed, lost, and even broken when faced with such…

--

--