2022 was a failure

The writer's path
4 min readDec 31, 2022

--

Now it’s time for 2023.

I remember that end of the year 2021.
Full of confidence, I looked forward to 2022 filled with hope.
2022 was going to be the year of change.
The pandemic was behind us. It was time to do new things.
This year 2022 was the year I would finally turn a corner.
To change dimension, to move forward.

And at a few hours of the end of this year, the balance sheet is quite thin.
2022 was one of the worst years of my life.
A year marked by personal but also professional difficulties.
And even if I finished the year better, the conclusion is there: the year 2022 was a catastrophe for me.

A false step.
A line to erase in the diary of my life.
I am almost happy that this year is over.
A chance to move on.

How to get back on the right track and not make 2023 even worse?

The only thing I can advise is to grab a pen and paper and reflect on your year. Try to identify what went wrong so you can fix it.

I did that and here is what came out.

1) I thought I knew everything.

End of 2021. I was very confident. Confidence is not a flaw. But overconfidence is a sin. Arrogance is almost always punished. And like Icarus, I flew but my wings melted. Losing my balance in mid-air, I was left to contemplate the fall.

I didn’t read new things anymore. I was no longer looking for new methods. I didn’t try to do new things, to learn new techniques, to expand my network…
I was content to repeat the patterns I had learned and that were effective.
I was content with this little universe I had built.
Yes but … The world keeps turning and if you don’t keep learning, you fall behind.

I learned in 2022 that you can be very successful and lose almost everything in a few months. I learned to be careful.

2) Physical exercise

I had a period where I didn’t work out at all during 2022. And the vicious cycle began.

Little training → Less energy → Weight gain → Mentally weaker

While in all the previous years I had lost weight, this was the first year I gained weight. And not just a little. It only took a few months of sedentary life to gain a few pounds.

Physical exercise is a shield to be well mentally.
And by dropping part of my armor, I found myself unprotected against life’s assaults.

3) A bad diet

Since I used to play a lot of sports, I never really paid attention to what I ate. I ate healthy but a lot. When I was doing a lot of sports, everything was fine but the few months of non-activity changed everything.
And eating poorly … you feel bad. My diet was clearly not adapted anymore but it took me months to realize it.

4) Bad priorities

When I should have put my body and my health first.
I prioritized my work.
Having difficulties with the aftermath of the pandemic, it was necessary to make up for the losses due to the previous years.
So I threw myself body and soul into my activity.

The problem is that if your body and mind are not in a good place, you can’t produce anything good.

You can’t really be productive when you’re not happy.

In the end, 2022, even if it was a difficult year, was a year full of lessons. And it is still with a lot of hope that I am heading towards 2023.

Excited about opening new business.
Excited about the challenges ahead.
Excited about the fact that I was able to identify that I was going in the wrong direction.

So if 2022 was a little disaster for you too.
It’s hope that I want to transfer to you today.
Hope that tomorrow can be better.
And hope that tomorrow will be better if we do the things we need to do.

If my 2022 was not good.
It was my fault.
So I have the power to make 2023 a good year.
And so do you.

Why do we fall Bruce ?
So we can learn to pick ourselves up.

Thomas Wayne.

--

--

The writer's path

Sharing my journey as a writer. Sometimes philosophy, self improvement. And occasionally ... my own stories.