You NEED to call Yourself a Writer

The writer's path
3 min readSep 7, 2023

We need to talk.
More and more comments are showing up on my stories and I thank you for that. It gives me the opportunity to chat with more and more of you.
But I notice…

A silent epidemic is raging. An evil is lurking. An evil of which I have long been the victim. Imposter syndrome or a self-confidence problem or … something else. It seems to have many roots.
It prevents an artist from unleashing his power.
It hinders him from using his wings.

This evil is the impossibility of affirming that you are a writer.

You often feel it when you first discuss with a writer.

“What do you do in your life?”
Hesitation.
“I’m trying to write.”
“I write a few lines on the Internet.”
“In my spare time, I like to write.”

Clever strategies to avoid saying : “I’m a writer.”

I get it.
Saying you’re a writer puts a lot of pressure on yourself. When we think of “writer”, we inevitably think of great authors. Great names with fantastic prose. We categorize. To call yourself a writer is to take the risk of associating yourself with these big names, that’s intimidating.

--

--

The writer's path

Sharing my journey as a writer. Sometimes philosophy, self improvement. And occasionally ... my own stories.