One Month of War Between Good and Evil

Viktor Cherniivaskyi
5 min readMar 28, 2022

--

On serve as a chaplain

Hello, folks. My name is Victor, and I’m a military chaplain.

I am a professional programmer and work for an American Software Engineering Product company.

As always, everything I write here is purely my opinion.

I barely forced myself to write this article, having driven from Lviv to Kyiv in 7 hours today. I only have free time at night, and usually, I fall asleep from exhaustion. I hear all the news last because I don’t have time to read them.

In this article, I want to tell you how a month of war went for me as a chaplain and show you one of my days.

I evacuated my family from Kyiv on the morning of February 24th. Together with them, I saved 3 African students and an interpreter from my church.

In the first three days, I went 62 hours without sleeping. I spent 45 hours driving, living on gas station hot dogs, and energy drinks. I’ve never seen traffic jams as hellish as those on the highway on the 24th and the Polish border on the 25th.

It took me 36 hours to get from Kyiv to the Polish border. I spent 10 hours in traffic on the border. Some people spent two full days there. We got lucky.

During the evacuation, I hit the right side of my car against a pole because I couldn’t get out of Sofiivska Borschahivka into Vyshneve. I hit my car on purpose because there was no other way. I don’t regret it. On Sunday, February 26th, I returned to Kyiv and became a military chaplain.

So, what does a military chaplain do? Verbatim, our duties are to

Provide spiritual, psychological, humanitarian, and educational assistance to military personnel and the civilian population.” Out of all those, the only thing I don’t do is education. The rest takes place every day.

So far, we have rescued and evacuated 75 people from Kyiv. We’ve brought tons of humanitarian aid to Ukraine. I also helped an American family organize the delivery of 32 tons of medical aid to the Ministry of Defense. I’m with a subdivision of a detachment within the Ukrainian special forces in Kyiv and try to help them with what I can.

March 13th, 2022, was a special day. It was a Sunday. I heard in church that we needed to bless our enemies and took the Novoirpin road to an exploded bridge to evacuate people.

On the bridge, there was a column of abandoned civilian cars. They were fired at.

Now that place looks like a scene from I Am Legend movie.

As I was waiting for people to put on my bus, the orcs started bombing us. I hid in a trench with the soldiers. We were shelled for ten minutes. After saying a quick prayer for our lives, I saw five civilians (who later promised to call their son Victor). I jumped out of the trench and right there, under mortar shells, grabbed their stuff and put them all on our bus. I also evacuated two journalists alongside them.

That was my day, and I realized that in near future, I can only pray for repentance of all the orcs and can’t say a word of blessing for them.

Now I want to express my immense gratitude to all who supported me.

I’m grateful to Our President. Vladimir Zelensky is a legend of whom books will be written, and movies will be shot. I voted for You, and I’m eternally happy that our entire country made that decision back then!

I’m grateful to our boys in the Ukrainian Armed Forces, Volunteers, and Territorial Defense. Because of you, we know that our country has a great future, and the orcs will meet the fate of North Korea. I’m grateful to all the medics, firefighters, and police officers that continue doing their job despite the danger to their lives.

I’m grateful to our government. To our diplomatic warriors fighting for our country on the diplomatic front for days! Our UN representative alone is a source of pride for our country.

I’m grateful to the management of my company, who understood and supported me, to Yaroslav and Natalya Lukasik and their organization Eastern Europe Reformation, to Martin Lukasik for taking my family in and helping them. Thank you to my wife for all your work in Poland for the good of Ukraine, to Timothy Balashov, for his financial support, to Vova Rozhkov for the help of his subscribers, and his wife Yulia, for her work and efforts to rescue animals in Kyiv, to Vlad Shelashskyi for the GoFundMe page for my wife and son, to Egor Chumakov, and to many, many, others, who, with their actions, supported me and people in need. To the men who don’t do anything for our country, sitting in West Ukraine or Europe: you know our opinion of you. I won’t repeat it.

I can’t omit the financial side of things.

We spend 5–10 thousand Hryvnas (~170$-340$) a day on humanitarian needs. If you want to support me please shoot me a message on LinkedIn ( (https://www.linkedin.com/in/vicchern/)). I will send you the credentials of PayPal, IBAN, or the requisites of a fund.

My family is currently in Poland. There is their GoFundMe page as well — https://gofund.me/d1b741ea

Everything will be Ukraine. Victory will be ours!

Below I have some pictures. Every photo has its own story.

The baby was evacuated by our van

The paralyzed woman.

The former military family. They bring the plane of the medical supply to Ukraine.

The part of the evacuated people

Another part of the evacuated people

Humanitarian Aid

--

--

Viktor Cherniivaskyi

I am a Father, Husband, Software Engineer, Military Chaplain, Drone Pilot