The One Factor That Keeps My Stats Afloat on Medium

Vico Biscotti
inside Blogging
Published in
5 min readJan 20, 2018

--

I started writing on Medium in May 2017. Since then, I wrote more than 70 stories, which gave me the possibility of good feedback on the platform and blogging.

I’m not a successful author. My stories are usually appreciated (one got 28 fans on 28 reads, and I suppose that means something) but only three of them got above 50 fans.

Having only 470 followers, there is only one factor that keeps my stats afloat. When I miss it, my stats are reset.

The quality

In my first posts, I made many mistakes. I’m not a native English speaker and I wasn’t used to blogging.

Then I began to adapt my writing to the purpose and in a few posts I started to have some stories that could interest someone.

Considered that I had to learn, my focus was entirely on quality, even if maybe the results were not so good. And I kept that attitude. I don’t compromise on quality. Or, at least, that’s what I try.

But quality alone comes with a problem, especially when you build your Web identity from scratch. Nobody sees you. Nobody read my 40th story in the 24 hours following the publication. Or my efforts on quality have not worked (but some of my stories got decent feedback), or quality alone is not enough.

--

--